Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 54.146.248.111

Message Too Old, No Replies

Google Analytics

Coming to an AdWords campaign near you...

     

growingdigital

3:59 am on Nov 14, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



It looks like Google wasted no time integrating Urchin into their product lineup:

[google.com...]

If you pay $200/mo for Urchin now, you may want to reconsider.

[edited by: vitaplease at 8:02 am (utc) on Nov. 14, 2005]
[edit reason] link to source itself [/edit]

uioreanu

10:26 am on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



anyone knows how to take out those 17kb javascript crap out of my homepage? Maybe isolate it in an iframe

markd

11:10 am on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



Going back to one of the first posts, can you tell me where it says on Googles TOS that this service is not available for 'commercial use'?

Is this correct?

netscan

11:18 am on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



I can't log in, keeps redirecting to the search page... Worked yesterday.

justguy

11:38 am on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Same problem. Guess it has been pulled for the moment :)

rubenski

11:45 am on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Same issue here. I am being redirected to the google search page when logging in. My friends' account works though.

anandus

11:45 am on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



It's working fine here -sort of-.

Looks like it hasn't consantly monitored my site, though, although that could be my fault.

But I'm able to log in, from different computers on different locations.

A friend of mine also isn't able to log in....

netscan

11:48 am on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



eh, get what you pay for I guess..

justguy

12:21 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Ah ha - works if you get to it from your Adsense management panel.

Looks ike they have pulled it as a service to anyone who does not have a campaign account.

Makes sense to restrict traffic while they have teething problems to existing customers only.

PaulPA

12:54 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



This could go down as one of the worse service introductions I've seen from Google. As a company that prides itself on delivering well thought-out and tested products this thing is clearly not ready even for beta testing. While I do not believe that an "official" Google rep announced this service publicly (I could be wrong about this) the fact that an employee of the company did, indicates that it had someone’s blessing to go to market.

I've pulled the code from my site until they get this thing figured out.

rady

1:01 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Do you guys know how often are the stats updated? Clearly it's not in real-time

uioreanu

1:07 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



it's working fine on my end. It's just that it's a lot of (useless imho) flash; and crowded webpages; very much not google-like.

It's also scary how much control they gather over their visitors. This concludes the complete click stream now; from the regular john doe searching for widgets; clicking on the adwords ad for widgets, and now to his behaviour after reaching the adwords target website. No wonder they're giving this for free; it gives them so much business insight for adwords; their core money milking machine

abkaiser

2:07 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Found something else interesting in the TOS, did anyone else see it?


7. PRIVACY . You will not (and will not allow any third party to) use the Service to track or collect personally identifiable information of Internet users, nor will You (or will You allow any third party to) associate any data gathered from Your website(s) (or such third parties' website(s)) with any personally identifying information from any source as part of Your use (or such third parties' use) of the Service. You will have and abide by an appropriate privacy policy and will comply with all applicable laws relating to the collection of information from visitors to Your websites. You must post a privacy policy and that policy must provide notice of your use of a cookie that collects anonymous traffic data.

...The important bit is the last sentence. I didn't even notice that before.

Why is this necessary? Don't *all* websites collect anonymous (and not so anonymous) stats via their traffic logs? Or is it the fact we have a cookie a new factor that people need to be warned about?

uioreanu

2:14 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



well the urchin.js code that is used to trigger tracking (http://www.google-analytics.com/urchin.js) sets a long-term cookie with the name "__utma". This cookie is set to expire on "18 Jan 2038 00:00:00 GMT"; sounds familiar? This cookie is not set to the domain google-analytics.com, but it is forced by javascript to be set in the browser as it would originate on the domain that is beeing tracked. That's the deal here so far as I could see; maybe somebody more experienced can explain better.

netscan

2:34 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Looks ike they have pulled it as a service to anyone who does not have a campaign account.

Okay, so I logged in via my AdWords account, now all the data is gone and it says my code is no longer found on my site.... Does this mean I have to wait another 3 days for it to start collecting again?

attard

2:58 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Dumb question time:
I had added Urchin code to some pages on some sites before the switch over to Google Analytics. The reporting shows no visits now since Google Analytics went live.

I see the code for Google Analytics is different from what I had added for Urchin. Do I need to delete the Urchin code (which pointed to a UTM file or something I had to add on my own site) and replace it with the Google analytics code which seems different? Or do I leave both there? Or doesn't it matter?

StreetSurfer

3:34 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

5+ Year Member



we are getting good stats from 1 site - though when we added a second site it refuses to see the code on the second site - even though triple checked correct associated code is there and all settings are correct for second site...

buggy...

flicker

4:24 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



What a nifty interface! I really like it.

Does the page overlay thing work for anyone else? It looked like a cool feature in the promo, but it's missing from the side menu, and when I find it in the "navigation" zone and click on it, it doesn't do anything.

anandus

4:27 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



I send them an email, because I installed the tracker, but the check status didn't work.
Here's the reply:
Hello,

Thank you for your email and your patience.

We have received your report regarding the problem with the "Check Status" alert update. Our engineers are currently working to solve the problem and hope to reach a resolution shortly. This will not affect data collection or report generation if you have already tagged your website with the Google Analytics Tracking Code.

Additionally, I understand that you aren't seeing data in your reports, even though your tracking code has been set up for over six hours. We apologize for any inconvenience. We have collected your data since you installed the tracking code on your site, and are continuing to collect this data throughout the day.

We are currently in the process of creating reports from your data. You should be able to see your reports populated with data later today. Please note that this reporting delay is associated with unexpected demand for Google Analytics. Under normal circumstances, the data in your reports will be at most six hours old.

For additional questions, please visit the Analytics Help Center at [google.com...] If you're unable to find an answer to your question on our site, please feel free to reply to this email.

Sincerely,
Analytics Support

As you can tell by "Please note that this reporting delay is associated with unexpected demand for Google Analytics." the were overwhelmed.
A bit sloppy of Google, imho

anandus

4:31 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Oh, and here's the solution for the login-problems (found in the the Google-forums):
You can sign in.

1. Sign in at [google.com...] with your gmail username
and password.
2. You'll be redirected to Google Main page (what seems to be wrong).
3. Don't worry, enter this address:
[google.com...]

and you'll see your site's reports.


It works for me! :)

StreetSurfer

4:39 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

5+ Year Member



second site is now recognised and gathering stats - yay! - it was something like 8 hours after I installed the code that it picked it up on the index page... the first one was active straight away.

the stats are great and will most likely be introducing people to the service who are adwords management clients of ours. Will give it a good month's run on our own sites first - but looks really good so far.

dazzlindonna

4:40 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



thanks amandus, that works, although what a stupid thing to have to do.

Ankhenaton

4:40 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)



Ok just seen .. above post

14 requests from Palo Alto on a German site :\ funny/scary ...

eamiller

4:46 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

5+ Year Member



Used the [google.com...] link as stated above. Still not seeing any statistics after 8:00 am 11-16-05.

roxah

5:51 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



inserted the code 2 days ago... it recognized it yesterday morning.... still says gathering data, how long is this sloggle gonna take....

sandyeggo

6:01 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Does anyone see the site overlay yet?

eddyg

6:09 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)



Is anybody else having a problem reaching port 443 of 'ssl.google-analytics.com'?

This name appears to be using some sort of geographical load-balanced DNS setup, and for me, that domain name always returns 72.14.207.97... and any packets sent to port 443 are just silently dropped, resulting in really long load times for any of the GA web pages while the browser waits to timeout.

I solved the issue by adding an entry in my hosts file:

216.239.39.97 ssl.google-analytics.com

(64.233.167.97 is yet another address for ssl.google-analytics.com; notice the last octet is .97 in all 3 that I've found so far.)

Note: for reference, the internal GA web pages all have this line:

<script src="https://ssl.google-analytics.com/urchin.js" type="text/javascript">

which is why not being able to reach the SSL port (443) on the 72.14.207.97 address makes it so slow.

graeme_p

6:55 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 5+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month



I have been trying Google Analytics, so far there is a lot I do not like:

Firstly I can not find any way to get any stats by country - you can get the number of vistors from each city, but I would like to aggregate those country by country.

It also (as far as I can see) does do track serach terms

Like a lot of other people it took me a long time to see any data (two days!)

Those flash applets do not actually work very well, and for some pages they actually add very little functionality.

Apart from the Adwords integration other free or cheap trackers seem to be better (Statcounter for example)

I am very disappointed, particularly by the user interface - which, as someone earlier in this thread said, is un-Google like.

Pico_Train

7:11 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Oh, and the stats are not accurate.

A normal visitor level of =/- 600 to =/- 30, I don't think so.

Ankhenaton

7:16 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)



first day 3000 nextday 7000 yesterday 3000 ... does not even fit with adsense stats that are 3 times higher .. and the awstats post robot stats are again 3.7 times higher ..

Nice wee inaccurate graphs though .. next suggestion send pictures of the really really hot visitors .. ;)

The overlay crashes my netscape ..

sandyeggo

10:06 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



just FYI

I just got a reply from google (believe it or not) and here is what they say about the missing overlay feature:

Thank you for your email. The demand for Google Analytics exceeded our expectations. As a result, we have temporarily removed the site overlay tool report. Once we have increased our capacity to process this report effectively, we will add the report back to Google Analytics. You can see link popularity statistics in other Content Optimization reports, such as the "Top Content" report or the "All Navigation" report

So i would say thats good news to those of us who need this feature.

This 300 message thread spans 10 pages: 300
 

Featured Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month