Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Forum Moderators: Ocean10000 & incrediBILL

Message Too Old, No Replies


Hocus Pocus



8:03 pm on Jan 6, 2012 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 5+ Year Member

Here's a bare (no rDNS) IP with an interesting history of UA fakery, below:
(a.k.a. Vocus Inc.)

10:32:10 /
11:11:06 /

robots.txt? NO

Courtesy of [projecthoneypot.org...]'s User Agent Strings

Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Yahoo! Slurp;http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/ysearch/slurp)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; aggregator VocusBot 0.4; +http://www.vocus.com/vnhs.html)
(Aside: That Yahoo UA is also malformed; no space after second semi-colon.)

Related: "PRWEB Sold to Vocus for $28 Million" (2006) [webmasterworld.com...]


11:17 pm on Jan 6, 2012 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member dstiles is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 5+ Year Member

Odd, that. If I'd had any slurp hits from a non-yahoo IP I would have logged and blocked it, but I have nothing in the 63.232/16 range at all. It's possible the other UA got through but I suspect other fields would have trapped that as well.

I've added the IP plus the words aggregator, VocusBot and the .com to my blocklist. Thanks.

Featured Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month