Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Forum Moderators: Ocean10000 & incrediBILL & keyplyr

Message Too Old, No Replies

WinWebBot by balaena.com

5:35 pm on Feb 21, 2009 (gmt 0)

Senior Member from GB 

WebmasterWorld Senior Member dstiles is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 5+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month

joined:May 14, 2008
posts: 3146
votes: 4

This came in today. Not seen before but it may have visited and been blocked by a "dump" filter.

bot IP: 62.233.101.nnn

WinWebBot/1.0; (Balaena Ltd, UK); http:--www-balaena-com/winwebbot.html; winwebbot@balaena-com;)

(my replacement of slashes and dots by hyphens)

IP is from Iomart Hosting's range -

The URL returns a 301 page redirecting to another IP in the Iomart range - no domain, just replaces www.etc with the IP and the page. Google returns the same IP for a search on the domain name.

Google cache page shows a page with the title "Integrate Knowledge : Unleash Potential" which, with other obscurantist text on the page suggests scraping for sale.

Domain name first registered in 2000 by a UK company.

[edited by: incrediBILL at 11:33 pm (utc) on Feb. 28, 2009]
[edit reason] disabled smileys [/edit]

8:24 pm on Feb 25, 2009 (gmt 0)

Junior Member

10+ Year Member

joined:Aug 4, 2006
votes: 0

I have this one on disallow in my robots.txt for a longer time.
4:49 pm on Feb 26, 2009 (gmt 0)

Senior Member

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

joined:Nov 5, 2005
posts: 2038
votes: 1

I saw the same bot, apparently from the same host, earlier this month.

Last Fall, the host range used a different bot. The masidani URL in the UA has the exact same IP as its serverfarm host:

masidani_bot_v0.3 info@masidani.com

robots.txt? YES, but ignored

So many serverfarms are nothing but trouble.


Join The Conversation

Moderators and Top Contributors

Hot Threads This Week

Featured Threads

Free SEO Tools

Hire Expert Members