Forum Moderators: martinibuster
I agree, what the hell would make them do that? Ummmm, hello? It was perfect before now I have to get out my Enigma machine to decode it all instead of just glancing...
Because they WANT you to get our your Enigma machine to decode it all instead of glancing...
Also to show you their Enigma machine is bigger than yours....
Also could you find out why you rolled out managed ads then pulled it, we changed several of our sites over to it and now we do not have the managed ads panel in the backend. Seems like all these problems started around Thursday last week for us.
Also, drall or anyone else who's having issues with the ad management feature or their reporting, please feel free to send me a sticky with more details and we'll be happy to look into it.
Thanks for your patience,
-ASA
Channel Imps Clicks CTR eCPM [?] Earnings
<channel-1> 62 0 0.00% US$0.00 US$0.00
<channel-2> 60 0 0.00% US$0.02 US$0.00
<channel-3> _1 0 0.00% US$0.00 US$0.00
<channel-4> 20 0 0.00% US$0.12 US$0.00
<channel-5> 24 0 0.00% US$0.00 US$0.00
As my earnings have been down substantially in the last 8 weeks, I am now getting very concerned that the AdSense earnings accounting might be flawed...
Please help me to understand what is going on and reassure me ...
KV
A few times over the next few weeks I thought things were getting back to normal only to be disappointed.
But then comes this new glitch with the sorting problem that ASA has admiited to. And, get this, on the very same day, exactly coincident with the new glitch, my eCPM goes back to its "normal" pre-Oct 20th levels.
Is it really possible that channels reporting/accounting is tied to average eCPM? Is there some relation?
I think we should be told.
Based on your example channel-4:
If someone is bidding $2.40 per thousand (CPM)
and got on your site for one impression,
That would earn you:
$2.40 * 1 / 1000 = 0.0024 or .24 cents (which will display as $0.00)
That single impression earned you $2.40 per thousand:
Earnings divided by Impressions * 1000 = CPM
0.0024 / 1 * 1000 = $2.40
However, then you got 19 more impressions with no CPM ads. So the math for 20 impressions with the same earnings would be:
Earnings divided by Impressions * 1000 = CPM
0.0024 / 20 * 1000 = $0.12 (This is what you are seeing.)
or something similar to the above math.
I know it can be tricky to understand, but not all of those 20 impressions were likely to be CPM based ads, just one or maybe two of them. The rest were likely unperforming (nobody clicked on them) CPC ads.
Good luck.
[edited by: RonS at 4:32 pm (utc) on Dec. 19, 2007]
That's what I'm here for! :D
Perhaps they could put up fractional cents, in the format of $0.0024, but... I dunno. I guess I could go either way.
I think what also might make some sense is an ability to separate out CPM and CPC stats.
I have long said that it is clear that nobody on the AdSense team seems to have a business background, or they'd understand the kind of reporting that would be nice. I don't understand why Google, who likes to come up with all sorts of nifty gadgets and programs and graphics and other neat stuff, wouldn't want to wow its partners with a flexible reporting system.
For instance, I'd love to see how various channels do on Fridays. Or Mondays, weekends, weekdays. I'd love to see how I do with repeat visitors, or unique visitors or visitors who view more than one page.
For some reason, it seems they have decided not to expend an effort in this area.
p/g