Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 188.8.131.52
joined:Nov 20, 2000
Depends on the vegan. Many would say that obtaining the 'whatever it is' from the animal was hardly done with its consent. Was the animal asked? I thought not!
Most vegans I know don't accept any derivitive, especially as the definition of 'harmed' is usually loosely applied by those who perpetrate such acts.
I'd suggest doing quite a bit of research on the topic. You'll find it well worth while understanding the market in the long run.
The problem is that most people who represent themselves as Vegans or Vegetarians have no real idea what the basis of those lifestyles are and do not follow them correctly - so your consumer focus may be more widely varied that it appears on the outside...
But, if you're serious about marketing to true vegans I'd stick with 100% plant-based products.
1) People who won't touch anything that contains any part of or secretion from and animal. I *think* most people who call themselves vegan fall in this category. These won't wear leather, wool, etc, either.
2) People who are vegan for health reasons rather than moral ones. These fols won't eat any animal products either, but you may well find them wearing leather Birks. :) These people confuse me.
If you're thinking about vegetarians as well, I'm aware of a lot more types. Many more vegetarians than vegans really only limit their diet. Despite the fact that it would be in conflict with my reasons for being vegetarian, lots of people see nothing odd about refusing to eat the cow whose skin they are wearing.
Vegetarians also come in lots of flavors, as you probably could figure out, if you didn't already know it, from the fact that it took me four words to specify what kind of vegetarian I am. Lacto-ovo is one of the more common types, and often taken as the default kind of vegetarian amongst animal-welfare types. We'll generally eat anything you didn't kill the animal to get. Most people in this group look slightly askance at the folks who throw in fish and foul to their diets. (lacto-ovo-pesco-polo) Then there are the "I'm a vegetarian. Well, I eat fish and chicken. And pork. And sometimes I have a hamburger, too. But I'm a vegetarian." types. I have no idea what (or whether) they think.
For those of us who extend our vegetarianism beyond the dinner table, knowing that your product is safe would be great, even though we're not vegan. I end up shopping at vegan stores quite often simply because other places don't always know enough to tell me whether the product fits my requirements. With a vegan store, I know it's at least strict enough. So, go a head and label it with what's in it - the stricter forms of vegetarianism force you to be a more informed consumer, so that should probably do the trick.