Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Forum Moderators: mademetop

Message Too Old, No Replies

Links report says its a match, and it's not!

8:13 pm on Mar 21, 2001 (gmt 0)

Junior Member from US 

10+ Year Member

joined:June 29, 2000
votes: 0

I'm stumped.
I ran a link report to take a look at sites that link to mine. There's several sites that, upon clicking on their URL, go to a domain that says

"This site is part of the WebSeed Publishing network. It is available, right now, for any interested writer, enthusiast, reporter or researcher who wants to operate this domain. Click here to apply to operate this site."

There's nothing on the page linking to mine. I have no idea why these pages come up. They are each separate domains, but cloned pages with this message and links to other sites. To see what they look like:


to name a few. NONE of these pages links to mine, but yet they came up as doing so.

Who is [webseed.com...]

Does any of this ring any bells? Is this some new scam? Any advice?

Thanks in advance,
Kim Krause

9:46 pm on Mar 21, 2001 (gmt 0)

Senior Member

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

joined:Jan 24, 2001
votes: 0

From what I can tell, [webseed.com...] is a search engine promotion company.

I briefly looked at their "directory" [webseeddirectory.com...] and it looks like a link bank to me.