Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Forum Moderators: Ocean10000 & incrediBILL & keyplyr

Message Too Old, No Replies

who is this spider

ultraseek spider



1:16 pm on May 1, 2001 (gmt 0)

Inactive Member
Account Expired


This spider has been visiting us for awhile - Ultraseek - with an ip address -
When I resolve the ip at ARIN, I come up with Group Telecom. They do not look as though they are any type of search engine.
Does anyone have any information on what the purpose or goal of this spider is.
Any help is appreciated.


1:28 pm on May 1, 2001 (gmt 0)

Senior Member

WebmasterWorld Senior Member woz is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member

joined:Aug 13, 2000
votes: 0

Hi stanleytk,

According to this page [searchtools.com] Ultraseek was a compnay that wrote search sorftware. They were acquired by Inktomi Mid 2000.

It would seem someone is using a slightly old version of the software to spider you site. As to who it is, perhaps someone else will have some ideas there.

Hope this helps



1:23 pm on May 2, 2001 (gmt 0)

Inactive Member
Account Expired


Thanks for the info. If Ultraseek built software to be sold. They could have sold the UA software to our competitor who is still using the older UA. this could explain why the IP address resolves to an address that looks like it could be a competitor.

Join The Conversation

Moderators and Top Contributors

Hot Threads This Week

Featured Threads

Free SEO Tools

Hire Expert Members