Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Forum Moderators: Ocean10000 & incrediBILL

Message Too Old, No Replies


5:30 pm on May 7, 2006 (gmt 0)

Senior Member

joined:May 21, 2002
votes: 0 - - [07/May/2006:11:25:33 -0600] "GET /robots.txt HTTP/1.0" 403 289 "-" "bot/1.0"

IP resolves to China (which I've already got the Country banned ) - name is quite original ;)

8:17 pm on May 7, 2006 (gmt 0)

Senior Member

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

joined:Nov 5, 2005
votes: 1

"bot" hails from the apparently inscrutable "Easten Network Co." of Beijing, China, a.k.a. the same IP(s) as lanshanbot [webmasterworld.com].

I see it running from repeatedly (lanshanbot uses .146, .147, etc.), but it's good you've got it blocked basically by default. Akin to lanshanbot, bot is sneaky -- it'll ask for robots.txt and then completely ignore it.

(Both lanshanbot and bot are also undaunted by 403s so the IP block is on my nuke-via-firewall to-do list.)

6:48 pm on May 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

Preferred Member

10+ Year Member

joined:May 14, 2002
votes: 0

I first spotted this bot in March of this year using this ua: msnbot/1.0 (+http://search.msn.com/msnbot.htm)