Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Forum Moderators: Ocean10000 & incrediBILL

Message Too Old, No Replies


The pingo spider



2:59 pm on Oct 18, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Just spotted this spider, it requests robots.txt.

Since the 11th of october i've been spidered 2460 times..excluding hits to robots.txt.

The i.p. address seems to belong to a company called whereonearth.com limited.

Anyone know anything about them thats not on their site?


5:08 pm on Nov 8, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

My site just got hammered by Pingo. Looks like WhereOnEarth is a yahoo company which develops local search technology. They just acquired the company in late october. I'm quite impressed by how efficient and organized this bot seems to be. It when through the main indexes on my site and then went to each individual information page. It only seems to go 2 to 3 deep within a page-thru listing.


11:50 pm on Nov 8, 2005 (gmt 0)

Could you post the whole UA?


12:36 am on Nov 9, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member wilderness is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month

This thingy hasn't been to my sites.

A saw a couple of referecne to Pingo and Red Hat.

Here' a google on 3.0



Featured Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month