Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 54.160.177.33

Forum Moderators: DixonJones & mademetop

Message Too Old, No Replies

How do I transfer a google analytics account?

Google makes it difficult to transfer analytics account

     
4:31 pm on Jul 4, 2012 (gmt 0)

New User

5+ Year Member

joined:Apr 3, 2007
posts: 19
votes: 0


A client left me for a new developer. I had one of his urls attached to my Google Analytics Account. My google accounts were hacked and I had to change my passwords. I don't want to give him the login credentials to my current account, but would like to transfer the site analytics to him. Does anyone know how that can be done? Google doesn't make it obvious? Any help would be appreciated as I want him to be able to track that site.
9:22 pm on July 5, 2012 (gmt 0)

Administrator

WebmasterWorld Administrator phranque is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month

joined:Aug 10, 2004
posts:10542
votes: 8


iirc you add him with account admin priveleges and then he can remove you if he prefers.
11:15 pm on July 5, 2012 (gmt 0)

New User

5+ Year Member

joined:Apr 3, 2007
posts: 19
votes: 0


I am not clear on your reply. He can log into my account now, but I can't let him remove me. I have other sites which I watch. (They are mine.)Or are you indicating that he can add me to his google login and I could then add the account there?

This can't be a unique problem - clients change web developers all the time. I think they could remove the code from his web pages and I could remove the tracking on my account. He could then apply to google under his own account and get the new tracking code. But, he would lose all the past data which he would like to keep. It appears that the tracking data is not portable and I can't find help with this on Google.
9:06 pm on Aug 18, 2012 (gmt 0)

Senior Member

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

joined:Jan 14, 2004
posts: 1107
votes: 1


He has his own Google Account, with an email address. You go into your login and, for that particular client, you add his email and give him admin privileges. Then he removes you, if he wants.

I think that's how it works.