Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Forum Moderators: eljefe3 & skibum

Message Too Old, No Replies

Email from a media sales manerger? Is it spam?

7:11 am on Jul 8, 2010 (gmt 0)

Junior Member

10+ Year Member

joined:June 23, 2006
votes: 0

I run a niche community site. It has a forum, a blog, a classifieds section, and not much else. It gets steady traffic, at around 600 unique visitors per day. The niche represents a very strong and emerging market.

I got an email today.

Here is a paraphrase of the message I received:



My name is [removed name] and I am a Sales Manager in [removed media company name]. I am writing to you as we are interested in starting display advertising with your company. We are ready to spend 30000 USD per month. I will be grateful if you could send me your CPM rates.

Hope to get your reply!
[removed name]

The email came from a two-word .biz domain that has a hyphen in it. I visited the website, and it would appear to be the website of an "online marketing services firm".

I don't even know if this is spam of a joke. Why would they mention "30000 USD per month". That is an absurd amount of money for my little niche site.

The contact page of the emailer's website,lists an address in Spain.

I googled the address, and it turns up a page on some directory site. The page shows a list of internet cafes in Barcelona, Spain. One of the internet cafes listed has an address that matches the address on the contact page of the emailer's website.

Can I PM the website to a professional here, who can help me with due diligence? My gut tells me this is spam. And yet, there are little nuances that try to make this email look legit. It has better grammar than most spam anyway.

I googled the name of the sales manager in the email, and turned up a linkedin profile of the same name. The profile is for a person in the netherlands who is stated to be a freelance journalist, with former work as a PR and communications assistant.

Is this a case of "too good to be true"?

Anyway, I'm more inclined to offer a flat monthly rate to display advertisers.

Even if spam, I can take it as a signal for me to begin approaching more potential display advertisers on my site.

Oh, and another little bit of info, is that I actually received this same email twice, within a span of a few minutes from eachother. One email was sent to john@mydomain.com and another was sent to info@mydomain.com

The contact page of my site mentions john@mydomain.com, and I also use info@mydomain.com with my site.
9:34 am on July 8, 2010 (gmt 0)

Junior Member

10+ Year Member

joined:June 23, 2006
votes: 0

Ok, I figured out it was spam.

I found that the contact address and phone number were shared by another website, identical in appearance and content to the domain of the emailer.

Then, googling this new domain, I come to find out other people have detected it as been operated by people with un-friendly intentions.

Case solved.