Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 54.146.201.80

Forum Moderators: phranque

Message Too Old, No Replies

Are You Sure You Want to Leave this Page?

     
3:32 pm on Nov 9, 2011 (gmt 0)

Senior Member

WebmasterWorld Senior Member aristotle is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 5+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month

joined:Aug 4, 2008
posts:2681
votes: 94


Several times lately, when I clicked a link, a message box popped up asking me "Are You Sure You Want to Leave this Page?". Then I would have to click again to confirm that I wanted to leave.

I find this to be a stupid obnoxious irritation. Has anyone else come across this?
4:15 pm on Nov 9, 2011 (gmt 0)

Moderator from GB 

WebmasterWorld Administrator brotherhood_of_lan is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month

joined:Jan 30, 2002
posts:4842
votes: 1


Yes, that ones been around for a while and it's still annoying. My esteem for a site halves when I see it.
4:17 pm on Nov 9, 2011 (gmt 0)

Administrator

WebmasterWorld Administrator jatar_k is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member

joined:July 24, 2001
posts:15755
votes: 0


it's a blessing when I am grooving to grooveshark and I accidently click the close tab

so it does have it's place but it is overused
5:20 pm on Nov 9, 2011 (gmt 0)

Senior Member

WebmasterWorld Senior Member beedeedubbleu is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member

joined:Feb 3, 2004
posts:6099
votes: 6


My esteem for a site halves when I see it.


Make that "reduces by 90%" for me. ;)
5:32 pm on Nov 9, 2011 (gmt 0)

Senior Member

WebmasterWorld Senior Member rocknbil is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member

joined:Nov 28, 2004
posts:7999
votes: 0


It's pretty useful on pages in which you input data as a reminder your data hasn't been submitted or saved, but annoying as hell for regular browsing. IMO it doesn't increase conversions, it turns people away.

There's probably some way to disable JS in your browser just for window.onbeforeunload, but I've never looked into it . . . ESC key, corner X or continue . . .
8:54 pm on Nov 9, 2011 (gmt 0)

Moderator from GB 

WebmasterWorld Administrator brotherhood_of_lan is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month

joined:Jan 30, 2002
posts:4842
votes: 1


I've seen it being used on web hosts and a couple of other sites that offer an X% discount 'before you leave'. Nice touch and I agree the technique has its plus points (mistakes and things I genuinely may be interested in), but it's also often poorly implemented and/or just annoying.
11:33 pm on Nov 9, 2011 (gmt 0)

Senior Member from US 

WebmasterWorld Senior Member lucy24 is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time Top Contributors Of The Month

joined:Apr 9, 2011
posts:12702
votes: 244


I meet it most often on government sites when I click on a link to a regular dot com. In that context it makes sense; they're essentially saying "The site you're going to is solid enough for us to link to it, but do please note that it isn't the government, so you're no longer getting official information".
12:28 am on Nov 10, 2011 (gmt 0)

Senior Member from CA 

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

joined:June 18, 2005
posts:1692
votes: 3


Unless it is justified (there are some situations where you might lose data that may require it), it's a spammy tactic and I consider any web site using this to be scammers. Now some web site that can be a bit of corporate kindergardens for many newbies (ex: Facebook, Amazon, etc) also use something similar on external links to remind people that they are venturing in the wild, and I can almost understand it to some degree if they always end up with complaints by confused visitors unrelated to their web properties, but it is still a bit of an aggressive tactic.
2:33 pm on Nov 11, 2011 (gmt 0)

Junior Member

5+ Year Member

joined:June 25, 2007
posts:108
votes: 0


Seen quite a few of them usually from "get rich quick" sites very annoying unfortunately its often abused and is just another way to keep you from leaving.
1:15 pm on Nov 13, 2011 (gmt 0)

Senior Member

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 5+ Year Member

joined:Apr 30, 2007
posts:1394
votes: 0


I haven't seen this message box. The reason is, scripting is disabled by default as well as cookies. I only enable them for sites I trust and only for the domain I visit. So for example if your site uses ga I may enable scripting for your site but you'll never see my visit in gwt.

There are browser plugins that have to do with privacy and can improve secure browsing.