Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 54.205.96.97

Forum Moderators: bill & werty

Problems with dates and RSS feed validation

I can't see why this is breaking.....

   
11:57 am on Jul 3, 2007 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member trillianjedi is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member



Any ideas?

This line is causing me a problem:-

... <lastBuildDate>Tue, 3 Jul 2007 12:52:04 +0100</lastBuildDate> ...

And I'm being told it's an RFC822 date stamp problem:-

Problematical RFC 822 date-time value: Tue, 3 Jul 2007 12:52:04 +0100

I've read the RFC, twice, and as far as I can tell it's absolutely spot on.

The RFC examples given by the Feed validator:-

<pubDate>Wed, 02 Oct 2002 08:00:00 EST</pubDate>

<pubDate>Wed, 02 Oct 2002 13:00:00 GMT</pubDate>

<pubDate>Wed, 02 Oct 2002 15:00:00 +0200</pubDate>

Any ideas? Would appreciate a second set of eyes looking at this, it's likely to be a stupid mistake that for some reason I'm not seeing!

Thanks ;)

12:24 am on Jul 4, 2007 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Administrator bill is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month



Could it be the format of your day? It looks like you're using:
d mm yy

but the spec uses:
[b]dd[/b] mm yy
2:09 am on Jul 4, 2007 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member vincevincevince is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member



bill is right. The other problem is that you're trying to claim you a build date during lunchtime, which is clearly not right.
1:04 pm on Jul 4, 2007 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member trillianjedi is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member



Agh! I knew it would be something stupid. Thanks for the second set of eyes ;)

Vince - lunch? What's lunch?!

 

Featured Threads

My Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month