Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 54.163.40.152

Forum Moderators: open

Message Too Old, No Replies

Another Dreamweaver template question

     

watermac77

11:52 pm on Jan 29, 2008 (gmt 0)

5+ Year Member



OK, where do I begin? I have a site that was created using DW templates. I am opening the pages to this site, copying the content and pasting it into a new template design (why am I not just applying the template to the page you might ask? See my other post...). After making minor edits to styles, etc. I save the document and move on to the next. Well my site has Contribute compatibility, meaning there are other users that check out pages and work on them. With that said, when these updated pages are opened on another computer in Dreamweaver, the pages are converted back to the OLD templates. I did some testing and discovered that this isn't memory related as I thought. The actual HTML files are being altered when they are opened. In other words, it is PERMANENT! I even browsed to the file using a browser and it's confirmed that they are "reverted". What is sam's hell is going on here?!

HelenDev

5:12 pm on Jan 31, 2008 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



Are you using Check In / Check Out in Dreamweaver?

Generally the way that DW works is that the page you edit will be your local copy, so if you don't upload it or check it in, you only change your local copy, you don't change the remote copy or the local copy on anyone else's machine, which might explain your problem.

HelenDev

5:14 pm on Jan 31, 2008 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



Another thought - does your old template have the exact same name as your new one? Just wondering if these other computers are referencing an old copy of the template rather than the new one...

watermac77

6:10 pm on Jan 31, 2008 (gmt 0)

5+ Year Member



The local website that is being accessed by more than one computer is actually a shared network drive, so there is only one local version of the website. Same goes for the web server, a shared server with only one remote version. I do have Contribute compatibility enabled (check in/out) as I have other users on the network who use Contribute to edit pages but they are limited to certain directories.

I did some more testing and found that once the pages were changed on the other computer, if I synchronized those pages from my computer WITHOUT opening them and "put" them to the web server, the local files can now be opened without a change. I think maybe when I try to open the changed pages before syncing, DW might be pulling the page from the web server and overwriting the local version. Is this possible with DW?

Is there a preference to "get" a file from the remote drive when opening it on the local drive?

HelenDev

10:16 am on Feb 1, 2008 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



Is there a preference to "get" a file from the remote drive when opening it on the local drive?

I think this is a preference you can set up in site manager. For each site you have set up there is a checkbox under Remote Info which says 'check out files when opening'. If that is checked it will retrieve the remote one when opening.

 

Featured Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month