Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 54.166.152.121

Forum Moderators: open

Message Too Old, No Replies

Frontpage 2003 Sync problem

what a mess after synchronization...

     
1:49 am on Sep 17, 2007 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Reluctantly, I still use Frontpage, and recently I fat fingered the publish button and hit "Synchronize" which sucked in all my remote applications, blog, tons of php applications and other non-frontpage web site files from my server into Frontpage (I just love the placement of the synch button right next to the publish button).Now Frontpage wants to manage all my application files.

I tried to delete the files in the local web, foolishly thinking Frontpage would just forget about them...Ha!
Now every time I try to publish, I get the following message:

The file "#*$!xx" exists on the destination server but does not exist in the current web site. Would you like Frontpage to remove it from "my domain"?

Of course I answer NO TO ALL, but like an elephant, FP never forgets and now asks me this everytime. I'm not sure what part of NO that FP does not understand.

My questions is this, is there a way to clear the publish memory or log to make it forget about those mistakenly synch'd application files?

I already tried the DONT PUBLISH setting, but that does not work after you deleted the files locally.

Cheers!

1:59 am on Sep 17, 2007 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



I found the problem...just uninstall / cleanup the frontpage extensions on the server and reinstall.

Now the old files have been forgotten. Thanks & sorry for the post.

4:48 am on Sep 17, 2007 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member jimbeetle is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member



Ya' know, let's not disregard.

I've been an FP user since '97 and consider myself fairly proficient in knowing its quirks and foibles. But since the introduction of the sync button in FP2003 I've been very reluctant to pull that trigger because, as far as I've read, I don't know exactly what FP is going to sync with what.

I still just publish changes up, and publish down for a backup. Anybody on exactly what sync syncs with what?

5:07 am on Sep 17, 2007 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



It will synchronize the two copies of the site (not trying to be funny since it is a "sync" button) It will take the most current edition of what is on either site and publish it to the other while, at the same time, put copies of files from one site onto the one that does not have them, like what happened to microlinux.

This is good and bad. I believe the intention is to make it easier when there are multiple authors. This way, one author does not have a file that the other does and ensures that everyone has the most current copy of each file.

As jimbeetle said, just avoid it unless everyone who works on the site is on the same page, so to speak, or your server based web does not have files that serve no purpose on your computer.

I have used it to sync copies of webs between computers, but never with the server.

Marshall

 

Featured Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month