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Google Adwords' Daily Budget Analysis

         

lloyd

11:29 am on Jun 27, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



I have just received an email from Google about their Daily Budget Analysis.

As far as I can workout it is just away for you giving them more money.

The question I have has anyone taken up their advise. For example they are suggesting to me to increase my daily budget on one campaign from £15 to £50. That is a massive hike.

I am not sure that my conversion would increase as a result. What is everyone elses experiences.

AdWordsAdvisor

6:58 pm on Jun 27, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



As far as I can workout it is just away for you giving them more money.

lloyd, the real intent of the email is to let advertisers know they're missing the opportunity to have their ads show more often, which could increase their profit.

I guess I should mention an assumption that we work under here at AdWords, which is that making a profit is very important to our advertisers - and that they wouldn't continue to advertise for long unless they were making a profit. So, if an advertiser is making a profit by having their ads show x times per day, then they'd most likely even more profit by having them show 3x times per day.

I hope that makes sense. Just having you spend more isn't the point.

By the way, I would never advise spending more than you feel comfortable spending, and I wouldn't advise raising your budget substantially unless you know you're making a worthwhile profit at your current spend.

Tracking ROI (Return on Investment) is all-important to any decisions one might make about increasing spend.

AWA

onlinethrills

8:05 pm on Jun 30, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



I have learned one thing about life -- and advertising (I'm 54). When you work for a company that provides advertising -- everything they offer is an "opportunity" -- how could it be anything less? At least if you're a salesperson for the company. All things being equal, a company that sells advertising is (simply) trying to sell MORE advertising. They're not doing it to make your life better -- they're selling ADVERTISING. Everything is an opportunity in their eyes, because they don't have to bear the financial weight for advertising that doesn't work, and they want to sell ADVERTISING.

The big advertising companies are a "system." They're systematically set up to sell good products and they're also systematically set up to sell crap.

The print yellow pages are that way now. They're old, very established and they charge the sky for what they give you, and much of their advertising is the poorest investment around bordering on the pathetic. But their sales force still goes out each and every day and systematically sells new businesses the same old (useless) crap. It's actually quite amazing what they get away with -- to some people, it'd be considered fraud...

The only thing I wish about Google is that they'd take some professional corporate responsibility and treat their advertisers properly. It seems from what I've seen so far that Google does whatever it pleases with its AdWords prgram and lets people come to the forums to try to decypher why their campaigns are screwing up and costing them wasted dollars.

FoundAgency

10:55 pm on Jun 30, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Llyod. If you’re reaching your daily budget on a regular basis you might consider lowering your Max CPCs either at the AdGroup or Keyword level.

Let’s say you have a target daily spend of $15 that you’re currently reaching on a daily basis, with an Avg CPC of $1. Try lowering your AdgRoup or Keyword Max CPCs so that your daily Avg CPC comes in at $0.70 and see if you still reach $15 spend per day. Keep lowering your CPCs until you just reach your daily target spend of $15.

You might find that you can reach your target spend of $15 with a much lower Avg CPC, and hopefully with a lower CPA.