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DFP advice

     
2:23 pm on Jun 3, 2016 (gmt 0)

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I've tried and tried to set this up, I thought I'd successfully done it but it still isn't working. This is what I did for three ad networks.

I created a header and footer advert in inventory. I then created an order for Network #1, followed by two adverts (one header, one footer) as line items for Network #1.

I then created an order for Network #2, followed by two adverts (one header, one footer) as line items for Network #2.

I then created an order for Network #3, followed by two adverts (one header, one footer) as line items for Network #3.

For all adverts the settings were price priority, end time unlimited, limit none, display creatives one or more, rotate optimised. All these were left as default apart from type which I set to price priority as I wanted Network #1 to appear first, but I had hoped the others could also appear if Network #1 couldn't deliver. But this didn't work.

For rate, network #1 was the highest at 0.75. Network #2 was 0.60 and Network #3 was 0.50.

Only network #1 is showing as delivering, the other two have stayed as Ready for 3 days, and simply will not deliver. Clearly I've done something wrong and price priority isn't working as it is ignoring Network #2 and #3 completely.

Can anyone help?
4:09 pm on June 3, 2016 (gmt 0)

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well if #1 is always bidding more than it would actually make sense for 2 and 3 to stay in the background. Have you checked the order date? Happened to me once that an order was scheduled for the future and wasn't delivering
4:16 pm on June 3, 2016 (gmt 0)

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To be honest I have no idea how to set it up. I just read a topic on here and tried to follow it - [webmasterworld.com...]

I put the code on my site and what happened was, Network #1 showed every now and then but the majority of the time nothing showed. It was just blank. So whats happening is when Network #1 can deliver an ad, that appears, but when it can't it's not taking code from the next in line which is what I thought would happen.

My setup currently is using passbacks which works fine, Network #1 passes back to #2 if it can't deliver. #2 passes back to #3 is that can't deliver, works great, but I wanted to get out of passbacks and have it set up on DFP.
5:37 pm on June 3, 2016 (gmt 0)

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I am (and was) in a very similar situation. Then I paid an agency 1k to set up DFP for me while I'm looking at the lectures at Publisher University (check it out, they have DFP courses). Also added AdX and AppNexus to the mix.
But now that everything is in place my reporting started to freak out, now with the new setup losing 20% every day (6-figures per year).

Just reverted back to the old setup, hoping that the numbers will go back to normal. I'm freaking out
5:18 am on June 4, 2016 (gmt 0)

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You are doing it wrong.

If you have Network A at 0.75, Network B at 0.60 and Network C at 0.50 and as I understand, you haven't touched anything else, specifically the targeting/capping...ONLY NETWORK A WILL DELIVER. Why? Because that's what you are telling DFP to do...in other words "deliver the network which pays the highest CPM" - in this case Network A!

What you need to do is implement some frequency capping. For example, Network A: 3 impressions per 24 hours, Network B: 3 impressions per 24 hours, etc. This way after the first 3 impressions are exhausted for the highest paying Network A, DFP will spill over your inventory to Network B for the next 3 and so on so forth. (I am just using 3/24 as an example, you will want to use your own depending on your network payouts and your site's traffic makeup, things like pages per visit)

Anyway, to recap - your lower networks will never deliver as long as you have not capped the highest paying network...DFP will deliver indefinitely, as it is not that smart to get so granular that it would know how much each individual impression is worth. Nor is it smart enough to know when Network A is going to show a blank ad. That is up to you to figure out. DFP relies completely on the eCPM you are entering + your f-capping and targeting.

Hope this helps.
5:26 am on June 4, 2016 (gmt 0)

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BTW, no offense to the guy above who paid someone $1k to set up DFP and now has abandoned it. But I did it all myself and pretty much consider myself an advanced user with a strong understanding...and it was not that difficult. And like him, I generate well into 5 figures monthly / 6 figures annually. Don't get discouraged, DFP is the best!
9:00 am on June 4, 2016 (gmt 0)

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Thanks for the information, I had hoped it would be simpler as currently using pass backs I have no blank ads. I've also seen other sites using dfp that have no blank ads either.

So for example, network #1 currently delivers around 13,000 impressions and passes back 150,000+ a day. That quite a small percentage. If I set the cap to that, is it always going to deliver and ad till it reaches that amount of impressions? I have my doubts.

Then network #2 delivers around 20,000 and network#3 similar, the rest is Google which I wasn't sure I had to enter into it or not?
2:18 pm on June 4, 2016 (gmt 0)

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(only thing that keeps me from using DFP is the learning curve, just can't afford the time. and the fact that I can't delete or even hide the stuff I put in from when I first played with it five years ago.)
6:29 pm on June 4, 2016 (gmt 0)

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DFP is definitely a steep learning curve, but I think well worth it. Frequency capping is key, as childplease suggests.

I think one of the biggest advantages is that you can set Adsense ads to open into a new window and not lose visitors to them straight away.

@netmeg, you need to select then click Archive. It's frustrating not to be able to delete, but once archived you won't have to see it again!
9:54 pm on June 4, 2016 (gmt 0)

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So going on the last 7 days I had 484,643 impressions, I have worked out what each network took. Can anyone advise what information to put into DFP?

Network #1 Header 6.21%
Network #1 Footer 10.21%

Network #2 Header 20%
Network #2 Footer 17.19%

Network #3 Header 14%
Network #3 Footer 14%

All remaining was taken by Google adsense.
10:08 pm on June 4, 2016 (gmt 0)

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I did archive them; several times. Still won't go away.

Also, FWIW I asked an AdSense rep once, and they said that opening up the AdSense ads in a new window were against policy, even in DFP. That was a couple years ago, but you might wanna check, in case they notice and slam the hammer down.
5:37 pm on June 5, 2016 (gmt 0)

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faceman - that is an extremely low fill rate. It would definitely be worth it to you to reach out to your networks and figure out what sort of ads they are not monetizing. What if they are only monetizing US desktop traffic and you are sending them everything?

If I was in your situation, these are the steps I would take:
1. Reach out to my networks and find out what impressions they monetize and which they don't.
2. Go into my DFP and target appropriately. If Network A says, we only do US/CA traffic, that's what I will target. There is no point to send them rest of world traffic and then have them pass back. I might as well get ahead of the curve and send those impressions to another network right at the DFP step.
3. Once I have the targeting down, I would probably start with a f-cap of 3/24 and see how it plays out and then modify as necessary.

Just to clarify - as it seems you might have misunderstood - I am not talking about capping as in absolute capping of impressions. You want to leave that open ended. I am talking about frequency capping, meaning how many ads get shown per visitor per time period.

Here's an example using real numbers, without any f-caps:
1st impression: Network A delivers $2.00
2nd impression: Network A delivers $1.00
3rd impression: Network A delivers $1.00
4th and onwarods: pennies

If you don't f-cap, Network A will keep on delivering but impressions 4 until whatever will bring down the eCPM. You are better off in this case, f-capping at 3/24, setting the value CPM as $1.33 and then passing that 4th impression (from that same user) to your second network or letting AdSense win.

All of this takes a lot of work (it's not hard, just time consuming) and you will need input from your network partners or their reporting to drill down. Again, it is absolutely worth it, I can't stress this enough.
5:43 pm on June 5, 2016 (gmt 0)

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Also you asked: So for example, network #1 currently delivers around 13,000 impressions and passes back 150,000+ a day. That quite a small percentage. If I set the cap to that, is it always going to deliver and ad till it reaches that amount of impressions? I have my doubts.

No, that won't work. As I said earlier, DFP isn't smart enough to break down value at an impression level. It just relies on the CPM you enter for that entire line item. See in my example above, to enter $1.33 as the value CPM (average of 2+1+1) but it will still deliver that 4th impression thinking it is $1.33, whether it is delivering $0.01 or nothing at all.

If you set an absolute 13,000 impression limit, what would happen is that it would deliver the first 13,000 impressions - regardless of whether they are paying or non-paying ads. But in reality, you could see a paying ad on impression #1, #234, #57000, #103,002, #106,000, etc. You would miss out on a lot paying ads. Only way to really optimize is through targeting (geo and browser) and f-capping.
9:15 pm on June 5, 2016 (gmt 0)

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I literally have no idea what to do after that explanation. I get I have to look into those options but I'm just clueless.
90% of my visitors are uk based if that helps
Do passbacks stay in place then? I didn't know if I should be removing them, so now makes sense to keep them on my network accounts to save blank ads
2:53 am on June 6, 2016 (gmt 0)

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Yeah I would keep passbacks in place, but you're on the right track. If you are at an optimal setup, your passbacks should be at a minimum. Eliminating them completely is next to impossible, but the more you stay away from passbacks, the more money you will make.

I'm really not sure how else to help, but your numbers seem to indicate that your fill rate is extremely low. But looking back, I think I misunderstood what you meant by those %...I thought they were fill rates but you are saying those are the % of impressions each network got? I'm not sure I understand how that is possible if in your original post, you indicated that Network 2 and 3 are not even delivering. If you could clarify, might be helpful.

Here's a very high level way to tackle DFP:

1. Check the CPMs and fill rate of your networks
2. Enter in the appropriate CPM in your line items
3. Tweak your f-capping and targeting to minimize passbacks. For example, if you start with 4/24 for f-capping and you are seeing a ton of passbacks, try going down to 3/24 or 2/24. Also, if your passbacks are high (fill rate low), contact your networks and find out why. As I was saying earlier, some networks will ignore certain types of impressions - from mobile, from Safari, from Asia, etc. If one of your networks responds and says "we only monetize desktop traffic", then enter that targeting into your DFP instead of sending them mobile visitors and having them pass back.
4. Ensure competition with AdSense is activated within DFP (vs. manually entering AdSense as a line item)
5. Monitor weekly to see if the CPMs your networks are delivering are a close match to what you have in DFP. If CPMs rise, make the change in DFP and vice versa.
6. Sometimes it might help to artificially raise CPMs in DFP. For example, if Network A is showing $1.00 eCPM, put in $1.10 in DFP...this puts more pressure on AdSense. But you don't want to go overboard and put in something like $2.00 as you'll be sending traffic to Network A and losing money with AdSense. (These #s are just examples)
8:39 am on June 6, 2016 (gmt 0)

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Thanks for the tips I'll give it another go, itv doesn't help that I find it all a bit complex, in the past I've just placed code on my site and hoped for the best revenue wise.

When I said network #2 and network #3 were not delivering that was after I'd attempted to set up DFP but was clearly missing something out.

The stats are from my original setup outside of DFP using network #1 code which passes back to #2 which passes back to #3 and then to google.
4:05 pm on June 7, 2016 (gmt 0)

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I've found benefit in group close CPM rate networks to the same CPM rate. Let's say one is 1.05 and another is 0.95. I'd group them at 1.00 knowing that one will come in a little high and the other a little lower. I've found that doing otherwise can start a "race to the bottom".

With respect to passbacks... I just pass back to a custom AdSense channel that I can watch. I've found there is a loss with each pass and that some networks don't pass what they say they do or that what they do pass performs particularly poorly.
9:23 pm on June 15, 2016 (gmt 0)

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One of the ad networks has helped me set it up. But I'm stuck at this stage, they say the last thing I need to do is check the DFP account is synced with Adsense. I can't find any option to do this, in network settings where it is supposed to be. What can I do here?
9:29 pm on June 15, 2016 (gmt 0)

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Inventory > Network Settings > Default AdSense inventory settings (Maximize revenue of unsold and remnant inventory with AdSense) = Make sure that is checked off, if you want AdSense to dynamically compete for every ad unit.

If you don't, you can set this at the ad unit level:

Inventory > Ad Units > AdSense inventory settings (Maximize revenue of unsold and remnant inventory with AdSense) = check off for the ad units that you want AdSense to compete with.
9:32 pm on June 15, 2016 (gmt 0)

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Does the "Maximize revenue of unsold and remnant inventory with AdSense" box appear checked under Inventory / Network Settings?
9:37 pm on June 15, 2016 (gmt 0)

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There should also be a column labeled "Enabled for AdSense" with "Yes" under Inventory / Ad Units / Ad Units.

You'll also want to check under Inventory / Ad Units / (select each ad unit) / Settings to see if "AdSense inventory settings" is set to "Enabled"
9:40 pm on June 15, 2016 (gmt 0)

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Child please, For clarity... do you mean to say "checked off" means checked or unchecked?
9:44 pm on June 15, 2016 (gmt 0)

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Sorry, there should be a checkmark in place to indicate it is enabled, i.e. checked.
10:35 pm on June 15, 2016 (gmt 0)

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Do I not need to associate DFP with my Adsense account then? Does it already know that information?
10:43 pm on June 15, 2016 (gmt 0)

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It would already know this, as long as the account is part of the same login I believe.
10:43 pm on June 15, 2016 (gmt 0)

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I believe that if you are using the same email address for both DFP and AdSense you should not need to do anything further.
10:44 am on Sept 18, 2016 (gmt 0)

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For a site that averages 8 pages per session (of 6-7,000 uniques a day), what would you suggest the frequency capping be for Network #1?

I set it at 6 per 24 hours for now and revenue has seen a massive drop (around 50%) but Network #2 and #3 have both risen since the change so it has made up for it somewhat.

I have yet to set capping on the other two networks.
2:14 pm on Sept 18, 2016 (gmt 0)

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You really want to work with the networks to find out when the eCPM/fill rates start to drop with respect to impression number.
5:24 pm on Sept 18, 2016 (gmt 0)

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What would you suggest? Is that something to email them about?
3:26 pm on Sept 19, 2016 (gmt 0)

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Check the reporting that they make available to you. If it's not there you should ask them. Many ad networks will see a significant eCPM drop off after a certain number of impressions per user.

I would start the frequency cap at 1 and monitor the eCPM rate as you slowly increase the cap. At some point you'll likely see the eCPM and fill rate drop off.
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