Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 18.104.22.168
Forum Moderators: goodroi
Google Inc. and other advertising companies have been bypassing the privacy settings of millions of people using Apple Inc.'s Web browser on their iPhones and computers—tracking the Web-browsing habits of people who intended for that kind of monitoring to be blocked.
The companies used special computer code that tricks Apple's Safari Web-browsing software into letting them monitor many users. Safari, the most widely used browser on mobile devices, is designed to block such tracking by default.
Google disabled its code after being contacted by The Wall Street Journal.
The Journal mischaracterizes what happened and why. We used known Safari functionality to provide features that signed-in Google users had enabled.
While we don't yet have a Safari version of the Google advertising cookie opt-out plugin, Safari is set by default to block all third-party cookies. If you have not changed those settings, this option effectively accomplishes the same thing as setting the opt-out cookie.
I bet half of adsense users don't even know they are signed in to Google by just checking their account.
They probably think that leaving the site logs them out (it should, but doesn't).
"This practice may have violated the company's own stated privacy practices," Senator Jay Rockefeller (D-WV) said."
So how do they think Google knows who they are when they go back to the site?
It is very naive to think that you are logged out when you leave a site, if you find yourself logged in when you go back.
Why shouldn't you be logged out? All you have to do is click the Remember Me button-- most sites have something equivalent-- and forever afterward it will read your information off a cookie so it seems as if you're logged in continuously.
If you're not physically on the site, is there any way to know if you're logged in?
Rather than being naive I would say it is logical to assume that you are automatically logged out when you leave a site.