they are using your IE plugins to run., but they can remain open when you close IE. If they are installed the way they're supposed to, they use you keywords from toolbar searches and display their advertisers that way. (i.e. if you search widgets in Google toolbar, their pop-up gives a "search result" of their advertisers in the popup.) yOU can click on the tiny "whenU" link and it will take you to a page were you can find out more about uninstalling them.