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Just check in if you are one of the ones with a higher EPC while others are complaining of a lower one ;) I know those who are seeing a higher EPC can get lost amidst all the "ACK, MY EPC HAS DROPPED" posts that have dominated recent threads, so I thought I'd start one going the opposite.
I am checking in to report that as of late last week (about the time when some started seeing a lower EPC) I am seeing a higher than usual EPC.
Actually that's not true. EPC can be lower, but the lower paying ads may be clicked more. On one site, I see this quite clearly and it is one of reasons that total earnings for that site have rocketed away. EPC is down a bit, CTR is up, overall net earnings are way up for a while now.
There was a very bad patch in early-mid Feb.
I've just relaised too that I am posting in the wrong thread! I should be in the EPC down threads ;). Goes to show how it is not such a useful measure.
Jenstar wrote:'EPC is a better statistical comparison than eCPM, because of the two options a publisher has when calculating eCPM.'Actually that's not true.
Depends what you're trying to learn.
EPC tells you what your average click is worth. This is useful primarily for threads on the topic of "My EPC is down, so Google must be reducing payout to publishers."
eCPM, or effective cost per 1,000 page views, is the AdSense equivalent of CPM, a standard metric of the advertising and publishing industries. It tells how much you're actually earning from your traffic, and it's especially useful for comparing revenues from different sources (e.g., AdSense ads, banner ads, and various affiliate programs). If you know, for example, that your eCPM from AdSense is $5, your eCPM from FastClick is $2, and your eCPM from the Whatsit.com affiliate program is $10, you may decide that you should dump FastClick and replace its banners with affiliate banners or AdSense ads. And if your average monthly CPM is fairly stable, you can use it to project income for various levels of traffic.
The past week everyting has been up at least 50%,
Rankings changed this time also, and I believe we recieved better seo listing, maybee due to a recent sweep,
I am seeing double my usual amount on most days,
Definately inspiring,
Bought so much god stuff today, with my new as money, feels great, bought a dvd burner, xbox 120gb hardrive, and a dedicated server,
s
AdSense EPC is about half what it was in May 2005 compared to May 2004. However, given the higher traffic AND three ad units per page (a skyscraper, a large rectangle at the bottom of most pages and Ad Links) this year compared to only one last year, AdSense eCPM is doing nicely, thanks.
Earlier this year, I went through the steep decline that others have been writing about this week. It took a while but whatever was broken got fixed and AdSense is again my primary source of advertising revenue.
Advertising is never a zero sum game and the Web is a unique creature because the number of potential publishers is virtually infinite. There can only be so many daily newspapers, monthly magazines, etc., because the cost of entry is so high. There can only be so many broadcasters, cable systems, etc. because of regulatory considerations. But anybody can be a Web publisher. That's probably a good thing in principle but it's not a formula for wringing maximum revenue out of advertisers and it creates a situation that is far more volatile than other media, at least IMHO.
January - peak EPC, added new site
February - EPC down slightly
March - 24% drop in EPC as traffic to new site runs strong
April - EPC up
May - EPC up (almost to February levels)
EPC is Up the past 45 Days .. double from it's lows the previous few months.
But while they have doubled from my lows they are still almost half from a AVERAGE EPC that I held for 8-9 months or so.
I'm comfortable where they are at now..but still miss the "good old days"
TJ responded:
"I'm not sure that's correct anymore, in the context of advertising.
"I think a lot of the AdWords advertisers have been going through their campaigns and removing specific publishers URL's."
I was not referring strictly to the AdWords program but rather to the huge quantity of material available on the Web. It all competes for eyeballs, whether or not a specific site is part of an advertising program. Eyeballs trained on pages without ads at any given moment aren't looking at pages with ads and are therefore not available to produce revenue for publishers at that particular moment. This might sound picky but it makes a difference.
/jh
(I must learn how to make those little quote boxes.)
My best month ever was July 04 with high CTR and even higher CPM and July is a usually a low page impression month for me. I never have as many visitors in the summer.
I guess the bottom line is that I'm doing better overall except for July 04. I do think that better ads have helped a lot. I am getting a good variety of ads that are of interest to my visitors. I'm not in a high paying ad topic tho, just hobby stuff.
What happen to the CPM that google launched early this month? No advertisers use them? I am just wondering because my EPC is all time high this month! I thought it would go down.
It's still in beta.
I will fix it tomorrow to get my EPC back. By Tuesday, I expect the see the higher EPC again.
I sort of ashamed to say what I did, but it wasn't against TOS. My CTR ratio shot up, fast. Then Google's algo probably figured out what I was doing. ;-(
I might have blended the ads with my content a little too much. I'm positive that Google's stats showed that, all of the sudden, more and more visitors from me were only staying for 0 seconds. You know, the ones that click, then click right back. Of course my EPC would drop, who did I think I'd fool? Google?