Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Message Too Old, No Replies

Google has spammed my logs

Someone may have found a way to exploit googlebot



12:53 am on Sep 14, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

I cannot seem to point the detailed logs related to this issue because of the automatic moderation stuff in this board. I can however explain well enough as to give you an idea.

I recently set up a catch-all virtual host in my configs. Any host or IP request that isn't already hosted on my server will get pointed to this catch-all host. For example, if someone went to noname.mydomain.com, it would take them to the catch-all error page.

Recently, IP addresses from google have been requesting german and other spam websites from my server and reaching my catch-all. I believe someone is abusing google's accelerator by pointing random spam domains to random IP addresses and asking the accelerator to download a page from x.x.x.x ip address and inserting a random hostname into request headers. Thus we end up with random domains in our logs, and if people were to post their logs publicly, these domains would show up and resolve to an actual ip address somewhere else. In so giving them a link.

So in short, people are specially crafting http requests and sending them to google accelerator and in turn giving them more links IN google. Thus, google's doing the link exchange work for them, in a very bad evil sickening twisted way.

Anyone else seen this?


6:48 am on Sep 15, 2005 (gmt 0)


I found a lot of strange/fake request to my server some days ago but I can't find an explanation. Maybe, I should to reopen the logs and take a look.

Thanks for your suggestion.


6:57 am on Sep 15, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member


May I suggest you to file a spam report as per GoogleGuy´s instructions:

"BTW, we're still happy to hear feedback on the spamreport form at [google.com...]
with the keyword "gilligan". "


8:46 am on Sep 15, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Since I read your post, I took a look at one of my public trackers on my webpages.

I see a strange "REDIRECT" link as follows:


When I click on the link it first shows for a short time a white page with the line (Redirecting you to [mysite.dk...] then it redirects me directly to my said page.

I really don´t know whether its a spam or just something belongs to Google standard tracking functions so I haven´t reported it to Google yet. I saved a print screen of the tracker page which shows that strange link).

Any of you can try above link, by replacing mysite url with yours and "page.htm" with any of your static pages.

Feedback please.


9:24 am on Sep 15, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member


most of these urls are blocked by the robots.txt - there is one way around this, but so far it is NOT being abused (not even a dozen people are using it) - and no I am not telling you how (however I am not even convinced it works very well).

I am not following what you said 100% reseller, but when you run across these tracking links - sometimes people use them by accident - they right click and paste the link in.

Keep in mind some people think this helps them as it will increase their clickthru with google (doesn't work).

Plenty of people use plenty of techniques that do not work. My advice is to ignore them, but plenty of people think they are making progress by using the spam report.

IMHO - the more your competitors use techniques like this - the better off you are.


9:33 am on Sep 15, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

I was spammed heavily by "texas holdem poker" swines. The IP's of this and other spams by the same org had random names like this randomname.existingwebsite.com

I checked some out not believing that websites, such as universities, and institutes, would send spam, and sure enough they didn't.

This spam technigue may be what you are encountering.


9:41 am on Sep 15, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member


Thanks for the infomative feedback and advice. Much appreciated.

As I said I saw the said link on a free public tracker I use in addition to my other trackers. So I clicked on the link to see where my page ranking on Google´s serps, as I usually do. To my surprise I was just redirected to my page.

I really don´t think that a "standard" searcher used such a link to arrive to my site. Maybe somebody somewhere is linking to my page in that strange way.

Of course best is if Google remove the "redirect" command (or whatever its called) from Google SE.


2:11 pm on Sep 19, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

I filed a report with google, and they first came back thinking I was arguing with them about googlebot searching my website (which I was definitely not). I then responded with the argument that this is not a question of google parsing my website, but rather the abuse of the googlebot, and they said they'd send it to their engineers. I haven't heard anything further. Anyway, this is an example of what I get in my logs:

"www.somespammydomain.de" 66.249.66.x - - [17/Sep/2005:23:32:02 -0400] "GET /leftnavi.htm HTTP/1.1" 200 903 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; +http://www.google.com/bot.html)"

I don't know why I get these because I don't host them and their dns does not resolve to my server's ip address. But it's clear that it's googlebot requesting this. As far as I know, the ip address is used by google for their accelerator, so I would guess that someone is crafting requests to the accelerator.

If you think about it, this could be a potential threat to a lot of people. Imagine if you could get googlebot to request exploits in IIS or apache and then cover up your tracks by simply putting in a fake hostname.


5:21 pm on Sep 19, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Are the spammy domains showing backlinks they shouldn't be? Are they ranking?


8:08 pm on Sep 19, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

One site has 92 backlinks that all seem to be directories, but so far the others only have two or three backlinks. Some have google ads and popunders.

I'm quite baffled by this stuff. I don't know what the purpose is, and a lot of the sites appear to be legit businesses such as albertadoctors.org, openquest.pt, and katagami.biz. Why google is asking my server for these sites? I have no clue.


11:00 am on Sep 20, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Any chance someone is using sitemap.xml to achieve this? A sitemap.xml file on domain www.widget.com could contain links to any domain not just www.widget.com. Maybe the sitemaps folks hadn't consider sitemap.xml file spam.

Or possibly your own sitemap.xml file is corrupted.


7:52 pm on Sep 20, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

I'm not using sitemaps on any of my sites. I'm not even familiar with this sitemaps.xml file you speak of. Is there any way to get a history of an IP address? I'm wondering if google's looking for that stuff on my website because it's got an old dns record. Lord knows maybe google has so many servers that it can't keep track of dns issues on each one.

Featured Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month