Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Message Too Old, No Replies

Am I forced to new IP?

is this a major cause of my site woes?



3:01 pm on Apr 5, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

I had a techy problem that has since been resolved. I couldn't reach my two small content sites from my usual DSL. All 3 PC/laptops on our home network couldn't raise the sites via our DSL via Company A's ISP, but we could get to them fine when we switched over to our backup dial-up at run by Company B.

Eventually, the problem was resolved, but one of Company A's techs included the following in an email to me:

"The IP has been banned in the past for various SPAM and phishing scams and that may also be part of the problem."

My heart missed a beat... one of the sites was until recently well-liked by Google but has since October 04 dropped off the map, so to speak.

I am white hat all the way and don't use any oddities... strictly content and updating... but I got whacked hard. Might the problem be my webhost, company X? Under these circumstance should I get ready to move everything from X to say AAA? And how would I know if AAA had a clean, no phishing/spam, reputation and in good standing with network services and the Big G?


3:19 pm on Apr 5, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

I just had an issue like this. I sent out a legitimate marketing email, but somehow, prob because of an increased number of AOL members, AOL complained, and I got moved to a SPAM nameserver, and have spent two weeks unraveling. It stinks. ANd the worst was my ISP never notified me of the issue till AFTER taking my site down. Needless to say I am moving to a new ISP.



5:31 pm on Apr 5, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Had a strange thing happen yesterday that relates a little. Couldn't pull up my site but it was still up on the net. You can verify through MegaProxy, anyway my ISP was not banning the server and no acknowledged problems from the host.

Today it's like it never happened. Been thinking of moving site to better host before all if this, now I'm definately moving.


5:57 pm on Apr 5, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

When I launched my site at a new host, I found out quickly that my ip was blacklisted because prior occupant was a spammer. I complained vehemently to Rackspace and they gave me a second IP for my mail server.

You still need to jump through the hoops of getting on AOL's whitelist and all the other major ISP's.
Then, you will have the spam filters to contend with.
It's ugly now. Death to spammers.



9:20 pm on Apr 5, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Hmm... so is it possible to actually email companies like Google, AOL, yahoo!, and ask if my www.blah-blah.com and my host have been banned/placed on a SPAM/phishing list or some such blacklist?


11:45 pm on Apr 5, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Search for "IP address banned or blacklisted" and Bruceclay. He has a program where you can input your domain and see if there is a problem.

Also make sure you aren't on a shared IP address, (which is why some hosts have such low rates). If another site gets banned so does yours. It also causes a problem with Google indexing redirects for the other company and affecting yours. Only costs a little bit to upgrade to a dedicated IP.


12:55 pm on Apr 6, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member


I've been working on the question of "have I been blacklisted" angle as to why my G-rankings tanked, and I went to a hub that checked a lot of spam-filtering monitors. 97% said I was clean/no-report, but SPEWS listed my ip-addy, showing it as shared with two spammer-sites. I looked at the SPEWS data/evidence file, and as their names resolve to the same addy, I guess I am blacklisted in places by association. I am now learning how to handle this.

1) Can someone tell me what my next step is?

2) And how do I know/contact/find out if the big search engines, like G and Y, are penalizing my ip-addy?

(I have the time and energy to get this resolved, but don't know the ropes.)



Featured Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month