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Poor Conversion Rate

0.4% at the moment

         

bears5122

7:09 am on Nov 20, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Just took over a site for a client and was excited to bring in a lot of cheap traffic through Google and Overture. Problem was, it didn't convert very well.

They have a 0.4% conversion rate and I'm wondering if this is just ridiculously low or something that can happen. It's an industry with products ranging from $300-$1000. The terms are very detailed and targeted.

Anyone with suggestions? Should I go to them and say you need to change the prices?

minnapple

8:06 am on Nov 20, 2004 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



Products in that price range are rarely purchased the first time the prospect views the web site.

Usually the buyer needs to consult/confirm the purchase with someone else.

Generally at that price range, you can expect around 70% of the buyers to come back serveral hours or a day later before making a purchase.

If you have a daily budget in Adwords make sure that is enough to cover constant display of your ad.

Make sure there is something about the website that captures the prospects' attention. Low price guarantee, [ this one is a story in it's self ]
etc . . .

There are other things that can increase the conversion rate of higher priced products, however these vary on the product type.

I.E.Tech products should be handled differently than general consumer or home products.

Essex_boy

3:08 pm on Nov 21, 2004 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month



Do you track returning visitors? use a cookie and see how many return to your site within say 30 days.

At 0.4% conversion and your high prices I suspect your profitable arent you?

Jack_Hughes

9:10 am on Nov 22, 2004 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



you'd probably find some kind of opt-in newsletter useful too. anything that keeps your prospects coming back to your site. products in your price range are rarely bought straight off the bat, it may take a number of visits to your site. a newsletter is a good way to keep people coming back.

lorax

3:55 pm on Nov 22, 2004 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month



That's a low conversion rate.

The problem maybe that you're using keywords that get the visitor excited enought to click but the site doesn't live up to expectations. Alternately, the site or cart themselves maybe turning the buyer off and preventing the conversion. Do you have a sense of what the conversion rate was before you took over?

You should also take a moment to read: [webmasterworld.com...]

Geetu

7:40 am on Nov 23, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Hi Bears,

U cannot judge the conversion rate in isolation. Infact with such a high value product ypur conversion may be good. See for example as u said your conversion rate is 0.4%. so out of 1000 clicks 4 sales happen.

Now yor cost (supposing cpc to be 10 cents) is
1000* .10 = $100
and four sales happen so Revenue
4* 700 =$2800

Profit
$ 2700

I must say v v profitable.

Dont you think so?

i suggest dont go just by the conversion percentage but calculate your profitability like this.

I would be very happy to know weather this helped.

new_shoes

6:03 pm on Nov 23, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



I agree with GeetU, your ROI seems very good. Try to do the numbers yourself and if the ROI really is good, then just buy more ads while you see what you can do to increase conversions.

Sounds like a winning formula to me.

lorax

8:41 pm on Nov 23, 2004 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month



ROI may be good but the conversion rate is still low. While the market sector does have a strong influence on conversion, a conversion of less than 1/2% is low IMHO.

If bears5122 is happy with the ROI on that conversion rate then he/she needn't worry about this. But since they did ask, I suspect they aren't too happy about it.

hfwd

1:34 am on Nov 24, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Well, is it seasonal? What are its competitors? What are its demands?

Maybe this conversion rate is normal for the industry.

We can probably dissect this further if it's a problem of excessive shopping cart abandonment, excessive clickback rate from homepage, etc...

Phil_C

12:36 pm on Nov 24, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



I does depend on the sector, but I don't think it's particularly low.

Using only Adwords, my conversion rate so far this month for a range of items costing around £250-£300 is 0.05%! And I'm making a good ROI/profit. Now if I was getting 0.5%, I would be making serious money for very little effort!

lorax

3:51 pm on Nov 24, 2004 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month



Perhaps you might find these interesting:

[conversionchronicles.com...]

[webmasterworld.com...]

[webmasterworld.com...]

[webmasterworld.com...]

I think we agree that the market sector you're in will largely influence the rate of conversion. Where we differ is in what is considered an acceptable conversion rate. IMO I feel 0.4% is low largely because I imagine an industry with that level of conversion that I couldn't improve it to at least a 1.something. As I noted, if you're happy with that level of conversion then that's what counts.

Phil_C

6:18 pm on Nov 24, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



lorax - that first link is particularly intersting! Though I think a lot of us have a lot of work to do to achieve 6.1% - would be amazing though!

This subject has really had focused my attention today - so much so that I've changed a major area within my site which should affect conversions in a positive way - if it does, I will report back!

In terms of CTR from Google, I seem to be achieving a consistant 14% which is very high (acording to previous threads)

sun818

6:36 pm on Nov 24, 2004 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month



If you are receiving ample traffic for the keywords you have specified, I suggest looking at the content page to see if there are additional ways to build confidence in the buyer.

Although any product peddler is always involved final stage (purchase) of the buying cycle, can you be involved earlier by providing all the information a buyer needs to make the purchase?

hfwd

7:09 pm on Nov 24, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Anyone has any experience comparing conversion rates of various "specials" i.e. 2 for 1, free shipping, free gifts, coupons etc?

hfwd

7:10 pm on Nov 24, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Note that the conversion chronicles article track conversions during the heavy Christmas season (dec to march). This may skew the result upwards.

OlRedEye

2:45 am on Nov 25, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



oops.. crossed my posters :)deleted

Easy_Coder

3:45 pm on Nov 25, 2004 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



bears5122 I'm experiencing low conversion rates and it has me boggled.

My average sale is $85. The products I sell range from $12 to $150. Since last October my 'click to sale conversion' rate is a steady 4% and I'm bidding $1.00 per click and currently budgeting $2k per month.

The only value I get out of these programs is 'return' customers. If any of the conversion customers become repeat customers then that's a 'win' for me. Otherwise 4% margin really doesn't justify this for me especially when I factor in my time to manage these programs.

Geetu

6:22 pm on Nov 25, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



$1 is way too much per click in my opinion. Why dont u reduce it and see.

itonet

7:28 pm on Nov 25, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Depending on what you sell on your site. It might not be too bad.

Easy_Coder

8:54 pm on Nov 26, 2004 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



$1 is way too much per click in my opinion. Why dont u reduce it and see.

Well that get's me to the top 10. I want to remain in the top 10 and I'd have to increase my bid by 50% to get to the top. So if I cut the bid wouldn't I be hurting myself?

fiu88

8:21 am on Dec 1, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



We have approx. 2000 uniques/week , 40 sales...selling $100-800 dollar items

beauzero

5:37 pm on Dec 3, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



I would definitely say you are paying too much for the $1 per click. I was in the same boat a year ago and started asking around in customer service what some of the "buzz" words customers used were. Most of them didn't even register on G (<1 click per day G estimate). Put them in and we went from 300k to 1.2M. I have yet to exceed my highest month of G ad costs from the 300 year. While this is nothing special for a lot of people here it represented a 5% growth in overall sales for a company that has been seeing 1-3% year to year. We still got our 3% increase + the 5% on the web. Mostly customers that were in a different niche than we had focused on previously.

Another thing to note is now I seem to have built some traction for Adwords stats all of the "make money through affiliate/Adwords" programs are raising the prices so we have gone back and revisited organic SEO with the same keywords. Most of those keywords had very low rank on G and were easy to climb quickly.

I would suggest looking around internally or talking to some of the people that have purchased from your website. It has helped us tremendously.
btw our average order size in around $60.

tolachi

7:08 pm on Dec 3, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



My sites average ticket is between $200 and $300, so I think my observations will be somewhat relevant to you. I don't think that .4% is ridiculously low, but you do have room for improvement. My experience is that in this price range you really have to work HARD at building repuatation and customer confidence. It takes time but really pays off.

Easy_Coder

7:37 pm on Dec 7, 2004 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



beauzero

Thanks for the feedback... I'm going to try new keywords entirely after doing some research.

beauzero

8:23 pm on Dec 7, 2004 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Easy,
One other thing that came to mind is putting in UPC or ...in our case ISBNs for specific items that sell very well through customer service.

Also Overture gives a lot better "finding variants" than G does. Giving you 2 and 3 keyword terms that when put in as phrase matchs on G can give you a better bang for your buck. Sorry that's not very clear...an example would be instead of using textbooks for a keyword ($1.50 and above) "McGraw Hill textbook" will give you a much better click through and buy through rate even though the ad won't be served as much. We worked really hard to break down as many phrases as we could. Overture was great too because we found that many of the variants didn't even have any bidders on them...cheap.

Good luck.