Forum Moderators: buckworks
Thank you.
By mails, i meant opt in e-mails.
I mean advertizing in somebody's else newsletter? Whom can you suggest, with a good audience?
the average ratio of those who view the ad to those who pay up for whatever you are advertising
views : sales
Example
If a newsletter has 10,000 subscribers, with a CTR (clickthrough rate) of 1%, and a conversion rate of 1%, you make
((10000/100)/100) = 1 sale
If you paid £100 for that sale, your cost of customer acquisition is £100/customer (obviously, I've picked numbers for easy working here)
You then have to make a judgement as to whether £100/customer is a supportable rate for your products. If you sell pencils, probably not. If you sell prestige sports cars, probably yes :)
If you have the right product, and you do your research properly, you may well find that the Internet offers a lower cost of acquistion than traditional offline media campaigns, and if correctly handled, also provides better information on what works and what doesn't
(edited by: rcjordan at 9:38 pm (utc) on Feb. 21, 2002)