Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Forum Moderators: Ocean10000 & incrediBILL

Message Too Old, No Replies

Speedy Spider



2:56 pm on May 21, 2000 (gmt 0)

My site is crawled by "Speedy"

On Sunday, May 21 2000, 3:56 PM, Search_Engines_Commander detects the following visit:
Browser: Speedy Spider ( [entireweb.com...] )
Domain: [lcd.projector.beamer.lcd-projector.beamers.v1.nl...]

All sites for Altavista, Lycos and Infoseek were crawled. Any idea's who this might be?


8:47 pm on May 21, 2000 (gmt 0)


9:40 pm on May 23, 2000 (gmt 0)

Tx B !


5:11 am on Jun 20, 2000 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Yeah, these guys at European Regional Internet Registry have been really aggressive. I've been pounded by them. I don't mind it but it's so hard to tell which are spiders and which are not... since they are also an ISP. Anyone know which one is the "true" spider? And which one is a "keeper"?


5:58 am on Jun 20, 2000 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Here is one of their aggressive IP:

Does anyone know what it is?


6:45 am on Jun 20, 2000 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member littleman is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member

There isn't a host name lookup so I did a ripe.net whois for you:

inetnum: -
descr: Search Works Limited
country: GB
changed: akhan@globix.net
Check out [globix.net...]


3:17 pm on Jun 20, 2000 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Thanks littleman. Yeah, I ended up in the same place. But does that conclude that is a spider?


7:32 pm on Mar 8, 2001 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member


This bugger is still pounding my sites. Anyone have any more info?


Featured Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month