Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 54.160.131.144

Forum Moderators: rogerd

Message Too Old, No Replies

Facebook Question

[username] posted on your wall

     

rocknbil

5:14 pm on May 12, 2010 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member rocknbil is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member



From time to time I receive messages "[username] wrote on your wall". The links are valid links to F.B., but when you go there, no post . . . and if I go to [username]'s page, there are other "friends" asking, "hey, I just received a message about you posting on my wall and see nothing?"

What distinguishes this from normal messages is that usually the wall post content is actually IN the email you receive, in these it is not, which is what raises the first suspicion. The headers are all correct, the links validly go to F.B., and no attachments.

I couldn't find any docs on this, it's a low level issue and doesn't appear malevolent, but wondering if it indicates some glitch in F.B. (big surprise,) a hacked account, or some other new and unrevealed hack.

engine

2:34 pm on May 13, 2010 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Administrator engine is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month



Could is be a spam/phish e-mail? Do you publish your e-mail anywhwere on FB?

I've seen so many phish messages these days i'm convinced a lot of it is simply spam phishing.

That link in the message, have you looked very closely at it to make sure it's not a simple trick to validate your e-mail for more spam?

Demaestro

3:40 pm on May 13, 2010 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member demaestro is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member



If someone posts something, but then go back and delete it after the fact, you will get the notification, but when you go to look at the post it will be gone.

Also sometimes a server goes down the post lives on that server you won't see it until it comes back up.

They have weird traffic shaping and DB logic that spans a lot of computers.

rocknbil

1:49 am on May 14, 2010 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member rocknbil is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member



That link in the message, have you looked very closely at it to make sure it's not a simple trick to validate your e-mail for more spam?


No, my mail client is similar to a browser in that it has a status bar and I compare the URL's. Second, it warns if the actual URL is different than what's in the text.

Do you publish your e-mail anywhwere on FB?


Invisible to all. I am obsessively protective about visible email addresses, see my posts about fighting spam in forms. :-)

If someone posts something, but then go back and delete it after the fact, you will get the notification, but when you go to look at the post it will be gone.


Right, I know about the delete thing (my daughter often snarks off on mine and deletes them, "HAH gotcha . . . .") The difference is when someone posts on your wall, the wall post is indeed in the email. In these, it's not.

The odd thing is, last time it happened, like I said - I'd look at the friend's "wall" and there were other "friends" inquiring about the person posting on THEIR wall.

I'm probably getting confusing . . . it's as if person A posted on my wall and other friend's walls, but you go look and they didn't. Remembering the "default behavior" of FB: when they do that, their post content is in the email you receive. In these it isn't.
 

Featured Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month