Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Forum Moderators: Ocean10000 & incrediBILL & phranque

Message Too Old, No Replies

Hacking Attempt - Should I take specific action?

Is default blocking enough?

4:28 am on Apr 2, 2008 (gmt 0)

New User

5+ Year Member

joined:Apr 2, 2008
posts: 2
votes: 0


For some months, I've been getting these or very similar appearing in my logs at the rate of 1-4 per day: - - [30/Mar/2008:13:45:29 +0100] "GET [wantsfly.com...] HTTP/1.0" 404 287 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0)"

What is the point of this request? The GET URI has absolutely nothing to do with either my site (wantsfly.com and the originating IP are both from mainland China).

Should I block everything from this IP just to be on the safe side?

If so, is a rewrite rule the best way to go?

Thanks for any help/info you can give.


12:35 pm on Apr 2, 2008 (gmt 0)

Preferred Member

10+ Year Member

joined:Sept 28, 2002
votes: 0

What is the point of this request?

Seems to be no big deal.
Someone requesting a page that your server doesn't have and sending back a 404.
Do you really need to know more?

It could be anything.
A log spammer? A kiddie? An ill-behaving bot? A ........ (insert other possibilities here)?

Just ignore it.
Or block it, if you find it worth to do so, and if the parameters (like the IP address) remain constant.
And, of course, do not visit the advertized URL.

This is not hacking.

Kind regards,

2:09 pm on Apr 2, 2008 (gmt 0)

Senior Member

WebmasterWorld Senior Member jdmorgan is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member

joined:Mar 31, 2002
votes: 0

This is a probe to see if your server can be used as a proxy. Luckily, it failed.

Note the full canonical address in the Request-URL field, instead of the normal server-relative URL-path. This is very easy to detect, so you can return a 403-Forbidden response if you like.


8:07 pm on Apr 2, 2008 (gmt 0)

New User

5+ Year Member

joined:Apr 2, 2008
posts: 2
votes: 0


Thanks for the response. What would be the benefit of knowing that my server could be used as a proxy. Presumably something nefarious!




Join The Conversation

Moderators and Top Contributors

Hot Threads This Week

Featured Threads

Free SEO Tools

Hire Expert Members