Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 54.163.68.15

Forum Moderators: buckworks & eWhisper & skibum

Message Too Old, No Replies

Google Spamming Me

   
6:32 pm on May 31, 2012 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



I'm receiving emails telling me my ads are now running on accounts that have been closed for years.

Is Google that desperate?

Anyone else getting these?
7:24 pm on May 31, 2012 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 5+ Year Member



nope, nothing here. careful, tis phishing season.
10:12 pm on May 31, 2012 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



I thought that at first as well, but they check out and are coming from Google.

It's obvious it's automated but just wierd they sent it out to two accounts that have been closed for years.
5:00 pm on Jun 1, 2012 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 5+ Year Member



are you sure they're "closed"?

the process used to be they were idled / shuttered, you couldn't actually "close" and account, but rather you'd abandon it.

if you also abandoned the domain, it might be possible for the new "owner" to use password recovery, and if your cc was still valid... yada yada...

point being, the "closing" process has changed.

suggest you contact G support.
10:21 pm on Jun 1, 2012 (gmt 0)

5+ Year Member



I was told by G support that they where have tech issues on 05/31
10:37 pm on Jun 1, 2012 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



Oh there closed all right... Google was kind of enough to kick me out and said never come back which is why I thought it was wierd..

The ads are not running either way but found it strange they sent me those emails.
4:27 pm on Jun 3, 2012 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



Looks like I wasn't crazy after all.

Because of a technical issue, some of your campaigns might have mistakenly resumed running on May 31, 2012. You might also have received an email titled, "Google AdWords - Your ads are now running.”

We’ve fixed this issue and are crediting your account for the amount you accrued. Once it’s been applied, the credit will appear on the Transaction history page, located on the “Billing” tab of your AdWords account.
4:51 pm on Jun 3, 2012 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member leosghost is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month



Question is..they may have credited you ..but did they "bill your card"..because a "credit" after being billed, isn't much use to someone who was kicked out..means you wouldn't ever get your money back..

One has to wonder how often glitches happen that cost their advertisers money .. and they, Google don't spot the error..and everyone puts it down to bad targeting or not converting..
5:30 pm on Jun 3, 2012 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



Question is..they may have credited you ..but did they "bill your card"..because a "credit" after being billed, isn't much use to someone who was kicked out..means you wouldn't ever get your money back..


That is true... Just another way for Google to pilfer money from people.

Good thing in my case none of the cards on file were good any more so they can keep their stinking credit.
8:36 pm on Jun 3, 2012 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 5+ Year Member



after ~30 days of no billing, they should let us remove the billing card and forever close the account. not closing it leaves it vulnerable to technical glitches and password recovery nastiness for domains abandoned then acquired by others.

want to tell the system that... no means no.