Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 184.108.40.206
Also, by optimal, do you mean the average, or the largest? Because the range is probably from under $100 to somewhere in the thousands of dollars.
With that background, I appreciate and understand that not all traffic is the same. But the more I read on this forum the more it becomes apparent a lot of people don't seem to understand the distinctions.
Even if we know what type of site you run
There is no way to predict how much it should make
I know a forum owner here that's making a killing off AdSense.
We all know a dating site also here that is making a killing off AdSense
There are probably millions of ring tone sites making millions too
I also know many very useful informational sites in here that are not doing great with AdSense, and others that are doing just fine.
Stop asking that question please, if you have a good site, you'll usually make good money, those are most probably a minority of the sites you see running AdSense.
If you're ok you'll cover your hosting costs, if you're very good, you'll buy your hosting data center, it has nothing to do with AdSense and everything to do with your site.
It's a very simplified formula, but it seems to hold true for a lot of people. Do these sites which receive about 30,000 visitors a month make about $300 USD a month?
I've seen posts from people making one tenth this amount, and posts from people making 10 times this amount, but overall it seems to be the median amount.
In 1997 I read a magazine article about a guy who hired a programmers to build sites for him, saying that he knew he could turn each unique visitor into 1 cent. I used this as my benchmark ever since.
Over the years I've had a lot of visitors, but 1.2 cents per visitor is about as good as I've been able to turn out.
Setting your own yardstick and expectations is fine and can work, but using it to measure other people's performance is flawed when it comes to AdSense, too many other known and uncontrollable factors are at play, this theory assumes no publisher competition in your niche and an infinite amount of advertisers, or a uniform growth to earnings ratio at least.
Again, each account, site, niche, geographic location, traffic properties, hosting situation .. is different, and within each one of those the variations are off the scale. The same exact site and content in 2 sites will perform differently.
That question has no answer but a range between zero and infinite amount of earnings, we are not allowed by AdSense TOS to poll real numbers to work out an average, and even if we do no one will give you their niche to get accurate average per niche, so it's a shot in the dark that making $300 is possible, average CTR is between 1 and 5, average eCPM is the same .. All means nothing with no real data.
If you are asking about an oak tree, it's 80-100 feet tall. A house in the US, median price, is 196K and one in England is almost 400K(US dollars). And I expect that everyone who has ever opened a store or restaurant has figured out ahead of time what they can expect to make.
Blank, with 30k visitors a month, it's possible to make decent money. You just have to pay attention to your visitors and see if they are spending, if they aren't spending, you won't make money. If your site is not geared toward spending at all, you will make next to nothing. If your site is geared toward spending, it will depend on how much they are spending.
This is hypothetical but say I have a site that deals with repairing antique clocks. The ads that show are parts for repairing antique clocks. Parts to fix antique clocks average $300 per sale, adverisers would surely be willing to pay 15-30 dollars for a sale like this. Another site features kits to bronze baby shoes but the kits only cost $5 each. How much would an advertiser be willing to pay? What is your site selling via the ads? If it's something expensive you will make more money, if it's cheap, you will make less. If you have experience with affiliate ads suited to your site, you will have a better idea of what to expect. Advertisers don't go to google adwords because they want to pay lots more than others are paying.
I don't think this question is stupid. You don't have to be rude just because you don't know the answer.
Thanks for the good laugh. Evidently spaceylacie knows how, or isn't too lazy, to do research, estimation, and business analysis.
blank, a good quality website can make between 1 and 3 cents per visitor. A download site or a forum could be less than 1 cent per visitor and as low as 1/10th of a penny each. Hopefully these numbers and some of the others in this post will help you get an estimate for your site.