Forum Moderators: martinibuster

Message Too Old, No Replies

CTR vs CPM

What should I aim for?

         

ElvisFan

2:24 am on Dec 16, 2006 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



I (sorta?) understand the general concept of both CTR and CPM

Since the latest adsense algo took effect (late November) my CTR has hit an all time high yet my CPM is at an all time low - decreasing my bottomline by 50% of what is was for the last six month.

So my question is? How do these figures translate for publisher and what should I aim for to increase my bottomline?

hunderdown

3:06 am on Dec 16, 2006 (gmt 0)



If your CTR goes up, but your CPM has gone down, then your earnings per click (EPC) must have gone down considerably.

First thing you need to do is make sure you REALLY understand what these things are, and how they are related. They aren't complicated.

Here's the basic equation:

EPC x CTR x 1000 = eCPM

What this does is tell you what you earn (the "e") per thousand impressions.

Example: What's your eCPM if you have a 5% CTR and a 25 cent EPC? Be sure to write the numbers as decimals. So you get:

$.25 x .05 x 1000 = $12.50

What if your CTR goes up to 10% but eCPM goes down to, say, $10.00? Then your EPC must have gone down:

EPC x .10 x 1000 = $10.00

When you solve for EPC, you find that it's dropped to 10 cents!

Keep in mind, though, that eCPM is mostly useful for comparison purposes--to compare sites, or this month versus last month. But it's not a good bottom line measure.

If, for example, you have pages with low CTRs and pages with somewhat higher CTRs, and you remove the Adsense code from the low CTR pages, then your eCPM will increase, because your CTR will go up. But your earnings most likely will go down (with a possible smart pricing-related exception, but I don't want to get into that).

Actual earnings are your eCPM times the number of impressions in thousands. So removing ads from pages will reduce the number of impressions and thus clicks. An example: 4% of 5,000 is 200. 6% of 2,000 is 120. A 6% CTR will give you a higher eCPM, but also considerably fewer clicks, and so probably lower earnings.

SO. To increase your bottom line, you need to increase your earnings. There are exactly three possible ways to do that:

Increase traffic

Increase EPC

Increase CTR

Of course, you have to do these things in a way that doesn't reduce one of the other factors.

Hope this helps. Or maybe it's too basic?

swa66

3:12 am on Dec 16, 2006 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



Smartpricing kills the cost per click and therefore the earning per click.

Try to send the advertisers more targeted traffic.
Which will mean less CTR.

When you try to optimize your income you look at the cash, not at any of the other the stats. Your only choice left is long term vs. short term profits. I've been goign for long term for years now.

andrewshim

3:33 am on Dec 16, 2006 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



wow hunderdown very informational... you just wrote a mini-mini ebook in your post! you should consider selling it online...

ElvisFan

5:47 am on Dec 16, 2006 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



Thanks that explains so much... but...

Everything on my sites (except for adding more content NOT more ads)in the last 30 days is due to being hit hard with these "new" ugly stats.

Here is an example of what has happened (not exact figures just examples)

CPM dropped from $7.50.00 to $2.50
CTR now 4.50% from an average of 2.75% over the last six months

Would suggest removing more ads from my pages (I only ever have one block ads per page - and certainly not ads on every one of my 300+ pages) or should I opt out from "advertise on this site"