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Understanding eCPM

         

lightning2004

3:18 am on Oct 12, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



say if your cpm is at $4.50 and you have 2000 page impressions do you get paid $9 even if you have no clicks at all?

hunderdown

3:44 am on Oct 12, 2005 (gmt 0)



You might if someone was buying CPM ads on your site. Because then you get paid for impressions, not clicks.

Is that what you mean, or are you asking about eCPM?

lightning2004

3:52 am on Oct 12, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



yes sorry i meant eCPM.i read this from the help area.

Effective CPM - Cost per 1000 impressions. From a publisher's perspective, CPM is a useful way to compare revenue across different channels and advertising programs. It is calculated by dividing total earnings by the number of impressions in thousands. For example, if a publisher earned $180 from 45,000 impressions, the CPM would equal $180/45, or $4.00.

ive noticed the last 11 days in my report all my earnings are based on my eCPM.so basically the more clicks you get the higher your eCPM goes? and then whatever your eCPM is for ever 1000 thats how much you earn? i hope im right id like to know im finally learning this and getting somewhere..lol

lightning2004

3:56 am on Oct 12, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



ok i know i cant be right about the more clicks you get the higher your eCPM goes because i 2 of my days 1 day i had 17 clicks and my eCPM was $6.15 and another day i had 39 clicks and my eCPM was only $5.27

europeforvisitors

4:08 am on Oct 12, 2005 (gmt 0)



eCPM means "effective CPM." Google provides that number because CPM is an industry-standard way of measuring what ads cost (or, in our case, what ads earn).

It's calculated by dividing revenue by impressions in units of 1,000. Let's say you earned $10,000 last month from 1,000,000 impressions. You'd knock off the last three zeros of the impressions number, then divide $10,000 by 1,000 to get an eCPM of $10.

Also, eCPM can be affected by a change in earnings per click (EPC), clickthrough rate (CTR), or both.

lightning2004

4:10 am on Oct 12, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member



haha thankyou..im finally understanding this..man before it was like trying to shoot a bird in a pitch black room..now that i understand this i know how to approach my situation better..thankyou both alot.

AdSenseAdvisor

8:04 pm on Oct 13, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



lightning2004 -

A useful page that not many publishers know about is the AdSense glossary located at [google.com...]

This page provides definitions for all of the terms in your reports pages, and should help you figure out how they relate to each other, etc.

Hope that helps!

-ASA