Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Forum Moderators: buckworks & eWhisper & skibum

Message Too Old, No Replies

Google Credit Card Copies Request



2:36 am on Oct 11, 2005 (gmt 0)

5+ Year Member

I received an email supposely from Google asking for a copy of the front and back of my credit card. Anyone know if this is a legitimate request. They said to black out the first 12 numbers of the card for secirity purposes. Why do they want this?

On a seperate note CitBank has virtual account numbers. Where you can issue your own number, experation and dollar amounts. If I were using this option how could one make copies.


2:59 am on Oct 11, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member


I think you are right to be VERY suspicious of that e-mail. I have never had Google ask for a copy of my credit card, so this really seems weird.

I suggest that you e-mail adwords-support@google.com and ask them if this is a legit request.

If you hear back from them that it is NOT really Google asking for this, keep us posted in the forum so that others will be on the alert if this is a scam.


3:07 am on Oct 11, 2005 (gmt 0)

5+ Year Member

I did call Google and talked to a rep who put me on hold and came back and said it was legit but that the department requesting the copies did not have phone service capabilities to talk to me personally. They have billed this card numerous times without a problem.

I have begun to use virtual account numbers for all of my online transactions. How would you make copies of those credit cards?


3:10 am on Oct 11, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Are they asking to have this faxed, emailed or snail mailed?

A scammer would have you send it to a non-google address or fax number.

Even with the account numbers blacked out, there is still important security information present on the card, such as the CID number on the signature line.

Be careful.


3:21 am on Oct 11, 2005 (gmt 0)

5+ Year Member

From Google

<paraphrase>Instructions to photocopy and send the information to Google</paraphrase>

It seems legit I just don'tunderstand the purpose.

[edited by: eWhisper at 4:53 pm (utc) on Oct. 11, 2005]
[edit reason] Please don't copy emails. See TOS. [/edit]


3:42 am on Oct 11, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

What's the e-mail address they want it sent to? And did you call a number from the e-mail itself, which may have been fake too?


3:43 am on Oct 11, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member


I think that according to WebmasterWorld terms of service, you are not supposed to post text from e-mails

As I said above, be very suspicious, and make sure that you only contact the Real Google through e-mail addresses and phone numbers that they post on their website.

Do not use the e-mail addresses or phone numbers that you received in the suspicious e-mail.