Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Forum Moderators: phranque

Message Too Old, No Replies

Someone's copied my webpage!



6:04 pm on Nov 21, 2000 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

What do I do now?
Someone has made an identical copy of my webpage,
under their own domain.


6:15 pm on Nov 21, 2000 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Find a lawyer and send a nice cease and desist type letter to the offender and copy it to their ISP and to their hosting company. Be sure to add the pertinent evidence. That may be all you need.


6:24 pm on Nov 21, 2000 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member rcjordan is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member

lizzie, have a third party take screenshots and save a copy of the source. you should also do the same yourself. also document when your page FIRST went up, if possible. if you have little hidden "quirks" in your html style, document those too. your big problem will be in establishing who composed the page first, their domain registration date won't really help, they'll just say they moved it from another site.


6:34 pm on Nov 21, 2000 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Thanks all!
Guess who it was?

I guess they used to be Rocketlinks.
Instead of listing my webpage as a link the way
all the other search engines do,
they have it listed, when you click on the
link for my webpage the URL is listed as "Bay9.com"
with a cgi ending.
This in effect is taking my webpage and giving it a
different URL.
Why would they do something like this?
I don't like it. Should I be upset?


3:38 am on Nov 22, 2000 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

I checked them out and found some very reputable companies such as Jumpline etc. using their GoTO like pay service. Maybe you should hang tight because they might be a traffic generator before long. Also, I noticed that sites would revert to their origional url after I clicked the link. Maybe it was just a bug? As long as the money/sales/whatever still comes to you. :)


9:29 am on Nov 22, 2000 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member littleman is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member

lizzie - I did a couple of searches and couldn't find an example. Could you sticky mail me the url?

This sounds like they are serving your page as a search result. There are three ways this could be done.

1 They outright copied your page and are serving it locally. I doubt they are doing this without your permission, unless they are owned by google!

2 This one is most likely. They are serving your page within a frame. It's lame to do this, but they be using the frame page to keep track of their fpf traffic.
There is nothing high tech about this approach, and it is cheap bandwidth wise. I don't think it is illegal yet to do without the site owners permission. Mr.
Disney's Go.com does it.

3 They are pulling you page on the fly through their server. This could be expensive, and probably illegal without your consent.

Without seeing it, I bet it's #2. It's easy to test, just look at the source code to see if it is your site or a frame page.

BTW - They have old Walt's head hooked up to a super computer and he is now the new, err old CEO again. Look out Bill Gates!


1:59 pm on Nov 23, 2000 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

"The reason for the cgi direct is for tracking purposes only. We are not
in violation of any copyright laws.
If you have further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us."

This is a copy of the email I got in response to my inquiry to them about this. I had requested a refund of the moeny in my account also but I guess they forgot.


Featured Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month