Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Forum Moderators: phranque

Message Too Old, No Replies

Yahoo Think its Spam!




7:52 am on Nov 8, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Well I am runing dating website .After registration user should confirm there emails but problem is when my script send the email to use it go directly to user trash Box! specially in Yahoo and Hotmail why is it so? I tested it some 1 month ago it went to inbox but nowadays its in trash!

Any Help?


8:00 am on Nov 8, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member ogletree is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member

This is not uncomon for emails sent from a script. Send one to yourself and look at the headers. More than likely it will say sent by nobody@domain.com on behalf of youremail@domain.com. Most spam filter will ban this. You might want to lookinto a script that uses smtp or talk to your host and ask them how to get that script to be from you. I have the same problem and I am looking into this as well.


8:06 am on Nov 8, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

well its configured like my datingwebsite@domain.com its strange!on my other website all confirmation emails work fine!but not on this one :(


4:15 pm on Nov 8, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Can you set up some other e-mail address to use on that server?

That is, instead of using an address of "my[spam-alert-sort-of-name]@domain.com", maybe you could set up a new account named something like "admin_reply@domain.com" or "contact_form@domain.com". And maybe then set up a forwarder, so the e-mails (from the form to this new address) get automatically forwarded to your preferred box.

Just an idea....



7:26 am on Nov 21, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

NO help :( it blocked I think my server bec i tried diffrent address and domain on my currrent host but non of them work :(


6:30 pm on Nov 21, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member tedster is a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member

Is your mail server configured for SPF records?



7:45 pm on Nov 21, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Is it possible your domain was tagged spammy because Yahoo! and Hotmail users reported spam (correctly or incorrectly) from other emails you or the previous owner of that domain sent? A lot of people might see a dataing web site email and just hit the spam report button.


10:57 pm on Nov 25, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Thanks for replies!

But it made me angry!

I lost 50% of my costumers! Due to that email problem because they do't get any reply or anything in there email! Everything goes to spambox. I tried MX Entrym, Chnging emails etc... no help.

[edited by: Woz at 11:16 pm (utc) on Nov. 25, 2005]
[edit reason] Tidying up. [/edit]


6:53 pm on Nov 26, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

OK, here some advice just from what I have encountered before, don't know if it will help you.

I have encountered this problem before in the past with certain mail servers so hopefully this will help you isolate the problem.

I was not able to get my mails delivered to certain clients only but for other it is ok. After doing some testing, I realize that the rejected message was something like non-routable domain.

In the end, I edited the DNS records at the registrar and add an root entry for the domain record (@ example.com) and also an A record for the mail server domain name. eg. #*$!.xxx.xxx.xxx A mail.example.com.

They're also likely to reject ip block in a dynamic address range even though you may just happen to be a static ip located between the range.


9:09 pm on Nov 27, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

@kwngian thanks for reply.

But i am able to send to clients mail it work fine but instead of going to there inbox it goes to tere bulk massage folder :(


3:24 pm on Nov 28, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Submit a request to Yahoo asking to be whitelisted. They'll send you a long questionaire and if you are clean and your answers are truthful they let you out of the bulk folder. Its happened to me on two different servers and I had no problem getting whitelisted.

Featured Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month