Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from

Message Too Old, No Replies

Google Analytics

Coming to an AdWords campaign near you...



3:59 am on Nov 14, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

It looks like Google wasted no time integrating Urchin into their product lineup:


If you pay $200/mo for Urchin now, you may want to reconsider.

[edited by: vitaplease at 8:02 am (utc) on Nov. 14, 2005]
[edit reason] link to source itself [/edit]


3:34 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

we are getting good stats from 1 site - though when we added a second site it refuses to see the code on the second site - even though triple checked correct associated code is there and all settings are correct for second site...



4:24 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

What a nifty interface! I really like it.

Does the page overlay thing work for anyone else? It looked like a cool feature in the promo, but it's missing from the side menu, and when I find it in the "navigation" zone and click on it, it doesn't do anything.


4:27 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

I send them an email, because I installed the tracker, but the check status didn't work.
Here's the reply:

Thank you for your email and your patience.

We have received your report regarding the problem with the "Check Status" alert update. Our engineers are currently working to solve the problem and hope to reach a resolution shortly. This will not affect data collection or report generation if you have already tagged your website with the Google Analytics Tracking Code.

Additionally, I understand that you aren't seeing data in your reports, even though your tracking code has been set up for over six hours. We apologize for any inconvenience. We have collected your data since you installed the tracking code on your site, and are continuing to collect this data throughout the day.

We are currently in the process of creating reports from your data. You should be able to see your reports populated with data later today. Please note that this reporting delay is associated with unexpected demand for Google Analytics. Under normal circumstances, the data in your reports will be at most six hours old.

For additional questions, please visit the Analytics Help Center at [google.com...] If you're unable to find an answer to your question on our site, please feel free to reply to this email.

Analytics Support

As you can tell by "Please note that this reporting delay is associated with unexpected demand for Google Analytics." the were overwhelmed.
A bit sloppy of Google, imho


4:31 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Oh, and here's the solution for the login-problems (found in the the Google-forums):
You can sign in.

1. Sign in at [google.com...] with your gmail username
and password.
2. You'll be redirected to Google Main page (what seems to be wrong).
3. Don't worry, enter this address:

and you'll see your site's reports.

It works for me! :)


4:39 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

second site is now recognised and gathering stats - yay! - it was something like 8 hours after I installed the code that it picked it up on the index page... the first one was active straight away.

the stats are great and will most likely be introducing people to the service who are adwords management clients of ours. Will give it a good month's run on our own sites first - but looks really good so far.


4:40 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

thanks amandus, that works, although what a stupid thing to have to do.


4:40 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

Ok just seen .. above post

14 requests from Palo Alto on a German site :\ funny/scary ...


4:46 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

5+ Year Member

Used the [google.com...] link as stated above. Still not seeing any statistics after 8:00 am 11-16-05.


5:51 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

inserted the code 2 days ago... it recognized it yesterday morning.... still says gathering data, how long is this sloggle gonna take....


6:01 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Does anyone see the site overlay yet?


6:09 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

Is anybody else having a problem reaching port 443 of 'ssl.google-analytics.com'?

This name appears to be using some sort of geographical load-balanced DNS setup, and for me, that domain name always returns and any packets sent to port 443 are just silently dropped, resulting in really long load times for any of the GA web pages while the browser waits to timeout.

I solved the issue by adding an entry in my hosts file: ssl.google-analytics.com

( is yet another address for ssl.google-analytics.com; notice the last octet is .97 in all 3 that I've found so far.)

Note: for reference, the internal GA web pages all have this line:

<script src="https://ssl.google-analytics.com/urchin.js" type="text/javascript">

which is why not being able to reach the SSL port (443) on the address makes it so slow.


6:55 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 5+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month

I have been trying Google Analytics, so far there is a lot I do not like:

Firstly I can not find any way to get any stats by country - you can get the number of vistors from each city, but I would like to aggregate those country by country.

It also (as far as I can see) does do track serach terms

Like a lot of other people it took me a long time to see any data (two days!)

Those flash applets do not actually work very well, and for some pages they actually add very little functionality.

Apart from the Adwords integration other free or cheap trackers seem to be better (Statcounter for example)

I am very disappointed, particularly by the user interface - which, as someone earlier in this thread said, is un-Google like.


7:11 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

Oh, and the stats are not accurate.

A normal visitor level of =/- 600 to =/- 30, I don't think so.


7:16 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

first day 3000 nextday 7000 yesterday 3000 ... does not even fit with adsense stats that are 3 times higher .. and the awstats post robot stats are again 3.7 times higher ..

Nice wee inaccurate graphs though .. next suggestion send pictures of the really really hot visitors .. ;)

The overlay crashes my netscape ..


10:06 pm on Nov 17, 2005 (gmt 0)

10+ Year Member

just FYI

I just got a reply from google (believe it or not) and here is what they say about the missing overlay feature:

Thank you for your email. The demand for Google Analytics exceeded our expectations. As a result, we have temporarily removed the site overlay tool report. Once we have increased our capacity to process this report effectively, we will add the report back to Google Analytics. You can see link popularity statistics in other Content Optimization reports, such as the "Top Content" report or the "All Navigation" report

So i would say thats good news to those of us who need this feature.

This 300 message thread spans 20 pages: 300

Featured Threads

Hot Threads This Week

Hot Threads This Month