| " possible unsafe site " seen in visitor logs 404 found in logs |
Badger37

msg:4362319 | 10:09 am on Sep 14, 2011 (gmt 0) | Hi, I've just seen an exact copy of this old post [webmasterworld.com...] Unfortunately the issue didn't get resolved so I thought I would try a new post. I'm seeing a 404 looking for "mysite.com/___possible__unsafe__site__" in my visitor logs? The site is only a few weeks old and is using basic WorldPay 'buy now' type buttons - all approved etc. by WorldPay. Does anyone have any thoughts on this? I'm guessing my visitor may be running some type of Security package that is creating a 'false positive' perhaps? Google shows there is lots of this activity going on but I've been unable to find the reason. Thanks.
|
lucy24

msg:4362564 | 8:44 pm on Sep 14, 2011 (gmt 0) | Starter question: visitor or visitors? Same IP, same UA, same intangible-something? Another possibility is that they're looking for an unwanted directory that might have been installed by a previous malign robot, like the occasional requests for /muieblackcat*. (btw, does anyone know what this directory, if it actually existed, would contain? Other than bad news, that is.) * "Why yes, kind visitor, it's located over here in the 127.0.0.1 room. Make yourself at home."
|
Badger37

msg:4362739 | 8:23 am on Sep 15, 2011 (gmt 0) | Hi, thanks for the reply. So far it's just the one visitor - yesterday. The UA was standard: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; GTB7.1; InfoPath.1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.30; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729). They came to the site directly without any referral string etc. and didn't visit any real pages. A Google for "___possible__unsafe__site__" [google.co.uk...] does show it's popping up quite a lot! I also contacted the OP in the previous WebmasterWorld post but he didn't find out what it was.
|
Rosalind

msg:4390180 | 9:01 am on Nov 23, 2011 (gmt 0) | I noticed this too, all from one IP address in the 93.107.104.* range, a hitting a few other made-up pages as well. It's probably a bot looking for vulnerabilities or places to spam, that's my best guess.
|
Badger37

msg:4390208 | 10:24 am on Nov 23, 2011 (gmt 0) | Thanks for the reply. I've just checked my visitor logs and I only had the one occurrence - so I'm pleased to say it didn't turn into a problem for me. NB. Totally different IP range 135.196.* and they only tried the one address on my site.
|
|
|