homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Pubcon Platinum Sponsor 2014
Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Webmaster General
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: phranque

Webmaster General Forum

Your Amigo, Paid Organic

Msg#: 4192263 posted 2:33 pm on Aug 24, 2010 (gmt 0)

I got a call from a guy at YourAmigo. (http://www.youramigo.co.uk/) He had a pitch for my company to help with organic traffic. Basically they will use their website crawler to find long tail keyword opportunities we are not taking advantage of. They would then generate a search engine friendly page that would rank high and look like it came from our website. (He assured me that Google was aware of them, and doesn't have a problem with what they do or how they do it.)We would then pay them for the traffic they generated with those pages. I wanted to know if anyone has had any experience with this company and/or this type of product? Any feed back would be great!



WebmasterWorld Administrator phranque us a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month

Msg#: 4192263 posted 11:00 pm on Sep 3, 2010 (gmt 0)

welcome to WebmasterWorld [webmasterworld.com], The_Asking!

did he provide any samples of the content they generate?
i would be skeptical of any auto-generated content.
i would be especially worried about duplicate content.


Msg#: 4192263 posted 12:24 pm on Sep 7, 2010 (gmt 0)

He did provide samples, and said that duplicate content wouldn't be an issue. He said that dell uses their services as well as Avon, Sony, GM, Reebok, Brookstone, ECT. He said that he can provide me with some people to talk to that use their services. I just find it kind of suspect that it has been so hard to find any type of third party review on YourAmigo. Especially with the clientele list that they boost on their website.


WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Msg#: 4192263 posted 12:57 pm on Sep 7, 2010 (gmt 0)

It seems very risky. Did he offer a guarantee? How is this page going to look like it can from your domain?


Msg#: 4192263 posted 1:05 pm on Sep 7, 2010 (gmt 0)

I am no tech wiz, but he said something about putting a proxy on our server. The Pay structure is a pay per performance, so I guess that's the guarantee.


WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Msg#: 4192263 posted 1:17 pm on Sep 7, 2010 (gmt 0)

You need to control what is on your server.


5+ Year Member

Msg#: 4192263 posted 12:30 am on Oct 27, 2010 (gmt 0)

@The_Asking did you end up going with YourAmigo?


Msg#: 4192263 posted 12:10 pm on Oct 27, 2010 (gmt 0)

I have decided to wait. I just am not sure I am comfortable with the idea yet. But I will keep an eye on it.


WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Msg#: 4192263 posted 9:04 pm on Nov 3, 2010 (gmt 0)

Youramigo is pretty agressive at tradeshows. I even saw a presentation by their CEO (or somebody). They are pretty convincing but I am sceptical for smaller companies. Sure its fine for a Fortune 500 company because they can always bounce back in the rankings or buy their way to the top of the paid listings if they get slapped with a penalty. But it could be a killer for a smaller operation IMO.


5+ Year Member

Msg#: 4192263 posted 10:01 pm on Nov 3, 2010 (gmt 0)

I went through several rounds of talks with them about a year ago. Like others have mentioned, they were pretty aggressive.

Best I could understand it, they take your content and rearrange it in thousands of different flavors, each one targeting a specific long tail term. From what I've seen, you end up with thousands of versions of regurgitated content. It sure looked sloppy to me, but the traffic numbers they claimed to be generating were astounding.

The deal breaker for us was that they "owned" the content casserole that they built. It resides on their servers, they add some secret 'cross-linking' sauce that they don't talk much about, and you buy the traffic through a proxy server on a per click basis. If you ever breakaway from them, they leave you with nothing.

Whatever they're doing seems to be working, but it sure has a funny smell about it.


WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Msg#: 4192263 posted 6:48 pm on Nov 4, 2010 (gmt 0)

they "owned" the content

I forgot about that part.


Msg#: 4192263 posted 7:05 pm on Nov 4, 2010 (gmt 0)

I have found a lot of skepticism about them, but nobody saying "Yea we use them, and they are doing a good job" I think until I can find some third party confirmation that what they do is working for someone, I am going to have to pass.

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Webmaster General
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved