homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member

Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: Ocean10000 & incrediBILL

Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification Forum


 10:25 pm on Jul 6, 2014 (gmt 0)

Anyone know anything? - - [03/Jul/2014:22:03:54 -0700] "GET /fun/judy.html HTTP/1.1" 200 23374 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; XoviBot/2.0; +http://www.xovibot.net/)"

Just the one request-- but it's an interior page.

Their site says
Selbstverständlich hält sich der XoviBot an den robots.txt Standard und beachtet dabei die Einträge in der Datei robots.txt.

Well, Selbstverständlich. Except, er, they didn't even ask for robots.txt, so how they can know they halten to its Standard is a bit of a mystery. On re-opening the page, I see that they've got English in a parallel column, drolly rendering "Beachten" as "Take care of". Heh.

If free lookup can be trusted, the breakdown is: xovi *
First Colo (Germany)
(It actually says ..112.0/20. I did some spot-checking because the whole /17 is Germany. The bottom half, 0-63, appears to be Easynet-- but isn't that servers too?)

* The robot identifies itself as xovibot.net. The umbrella site, xovi.de, says "Zahlen, Daten & Fakten statt Bauchgefühl" with further blahblah about SEO. Wonder what you get for 99 Euros a month?



 6:00 am on Jul 7, 2014 (gmt 0)

Seen on July 2nd, 12 hours apart, same UA. Probable German server farm mothership:

On that date, (rough) translation of the bot's site by G said:

XoviBot Adheres to the robots.txt standard. If you want the bot to prevent Default your site from being crawled then Add the following to your robots.txt:

User-agent: XoviBot
Disallow: /

That's all well and good -- if they'd asked for robots.txt in the first place. Nein!


 6:19 am on Jul 7, 2014 (gmt 0)

This is what I have as well: #combined... #Easynet - #first-colo.de -


 1:37 pm on Jul 7, 2014 (gmt 0)

Xovi/de/com is yet another SEO tool set service masquerading as a 'marketing suite'. Includes checking out backlinks, competitors keywords, etc. which likely explains their bot.



 4:14 pm on Aug 23, 2014 (gmt 0)

Just seen it too, blocked at Hello. Same IP and UA as OP(Lucy) on the site that was tanked in SERP couple of month ago on GOOG.

How else did they find this site and why did it take so long?


 12:22 pm on Aug 25, 2014 (gmt 0) - - [25/Aug/2014:06:26:34 -0600] "GET /MySub/MySubSub/MyPage.html HTTP/1.1" 403 558 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; XoviBot/2.0; +http://www.xovibot.net/)"

I've the Class A denied.


 7:05 pm on Aug 25, 2014 (gmt 0)

I've the Class A denied.

I had no doubt :)

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved