dstiles

msg:4518119 | 9:54 pm on Nov 11, 2012 (gmt 0) |
Thanks for the new range, Lucy. Just ran a DNS check on the full range and the word "spider" occurs only in the range 37.140.141.1 - 37.140.141.36 Of these, 37.140.141.1 - 37.140.141.12 are basic "spider"; the others are "image-spider".
|
TypicalSurfer

msg:4518121 | 10:11 pm on Nov 11, 2012 (gmt 0) |
Yandex has a nice index, it kinda reminds me of a search engine. I have seen a few referrals and noticed that dogpile is tossing them into their meta results. They do crawl a lot but I'll cut them slack.
|
keyplyr

msg:4518133 | 10:49 pm on Nov 11, 2012 (gmt 0) |
I get a fair amount of traffic from Yandex. Their bot behaves and I have never had a problem. | Yandex has a nice index, it kinda reminds me of a search engine. |
| Probably because they are.
|
lucy24

msg:4540812 | 5:04 am on Jan 31, 2013 (gmt 0) |
:: bump :: Here's another one: 37.9.64.0/18 possibly constrained to 37.9.84.0/22 (37.9.84-87) Only met them twice so far. exact IP: 37.9.84.253 full UA: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; YandexFavicons/1.0; +http://yandex.com/ bots) Along with the favicon (first visit only), they picked up the front page both times. No relation to 37.9.0.0/18 (main activity in the 37.9.50's, I think) which has been mentioned in a few threads hereabouts. But while cross-checking the UA I found this Yandex page [help.yandex.com] (in English) which I don't remember seeing before. | Yandex has a nice index, it kinda reminds me of a search engine. |
| Probably because they are. |
| I thought he was being satirical ;)
|
keyplyr

msg:4540835 | 8:20 am on Jan 31, 2013 (gmt 0) |
| There are many IP addresses that Yandex robots can originate from, and these IP addresses are subject to change. We are therefore unable to offer a list of IP addresses and we do not recommend using a filter based on IP addresses. |
| This is interesting.
|
lucy24

msg:4540840 | 8:34 am on Jan 31, 2013 (gmt 0) |
At least so far the IPs do seem to belong to Yandex. It isn't as hopeless as, say, the MJ12bot which can come from absolutely anywhere-- including a good many blocked server farms. And, conversely, you don't see a lot of Yandexbot spoofers. Fake yandsearch* in referers, yes. Fake UAs, not so much. * I did some quickie experimenting. The fake referer isn't any different from a real one. Except that currently mine all end in &lr=213. I don't know what "lr" is, only that it doesn't correspond to "cd".
|
bigtoga

msg:4540884 | 11:57 am on Jan 31, 2013 (gmt 0) |
dstiles: "Just ran a DNS check on the full range and the word "spider" occurs only in the range 37.140.141.1 - 37.140.141.36" Could you share how you did that? I've asked that question here before and never really gotten a good response.
|
dstiles

msg:4541117 | 10:31 pm on Jan 31, 2013 (gmt 0) |
I use dig on linux, run in a bash shell script. I run the checks against one of the relevant DNS servers (eg yandex for yandex, ms for bingbot etc). Slow but a) I'm in no hurry for the results and b) I worry that a fast DNS scan would get me blocked. Not sure how to run this under windows but there is probably an equivalent to dig.
|
Leosghost

msg:4541127 | 11:14 pm on Jan 31, 2013 (gmt 0) |
| Not sure how to run this under windows but there is probably an equivalent to dig. |
| I was going to suggest "sam spade" ..(was a "multi tools" for win ) ..and then went for a look ..and "sam" is gone :( .."where have all the..." So ..going to pour myself a "leapfrog"..and make sure there are no kids on my lawn..
|
dstiles

msg:4541575 | 8:30 pm on Feb 1, 2013 (gmt 0) |
I used to use sam when I was using windows machines for everyday activities but gave up when various bits of it stopped working. At the time there was still a web version running but I haven't looked for several years. It's possible that NS-Batch might still be available and capable of doing this but I've only used that once (recently) for tracking a list of IPs and can't recall its full facilities.
|
lucy24

msg:4541597 | 9:43 pm on Feb 1, 2013 (gmt 0) |
| At the time there was still a web version running |
| Heh. I didn't know there was anything but a www version. It must have closed up shop eons ago; I even took it off my bookmarks. Currently dot com times out and dot org gives you the "It Works!" header which I think is generated by testing something-or-other but, er, I can't remember what. Cursory whois'ing says that dot org is the one we want :(.
|
SevenCubed

msg:4541601 | 9:57 pm on Feb 1, 2013 (gmt 0) |
| ...the "It Works!" header... |
| It's the default message that an Apache server homepage displays once it's set up properly.
|
|