| Are visitors from mail servers legitimate? Corporate mail server from medical company. |
grandma genie

msg:4470952 | 3:49 pm on Jun 29, 2012 (gmt 0) | Just curious. This visitor came in from an old link that is redirecting to my home page. The IP belongs to a Mail Server from mail.hutcheson.org. Does that mean this is just someone who is surfing during working hours on their work computer? Not sure what it means when the IP is a Mail Server? Tried to do a search but came up empty. 208.62.41.nn - - [29/Jun/2012:08:23:12 -0400] "GET /example.html HTTP/1.1" 301 240 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.30; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.648; .NET CLR 3.5.21022)"
|
grandma genie

msg:4470954 | 3:54 pm on Jun 29, 2012 (gmt 0) | By the way, which forum would be appropriate for this type of question? Apache? Spider ID or General?
|
wilderness

msg:4470993 | 4:53 pm on Jun 29, 2012 (gmt 0) | Assuredly. I get them all the time, although not from this particular server. Visitors or forums pass on links to friends and other participants. Many of these users utilize email services (Yahoo, Hotmail, Gmail and others), which could be a problem in and of itself, especially if your site (s) use anti-hotlinking. If anti-hotlinking in place, than generally exceptions are required to the major email servers. FWIW, SSID Forum more appropriate.
|
incrediBILL

msg:4473535 | 9:30 pm on Jul 7, 2012 (gmt 0) | Considering the IP appears to be for a medical center, it's probably someone at work.
|
|
|