homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member

Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: Ocean10000 & incrediBILL

Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification Forum

Is this spider legit?
grandma genie

 12:00 am on Jul 2, 2012 (gmt 0)

Another new one on me. Didn't see it or its IP in a search.

74.168.226.n - - [01/Jul/2012:04:48:32 -0400] "GET /example HTTP/1.0" 301 249 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; GoGuidesSpamTracker/1.1; http://www.goguides.org/spamtracker.html)"

robots.txt - no

Direct hit. Hit the home page only. It's a BellSouth IP. I have never submitted my site to GoGuides. Not sure what to do with this one. Has anyone seen this spider in your logs lately? Is it legit?

[edited by: incrediBILL at 1:03 am (utc) on Jul 6, 2012]
[edit reason] fixed link in user agent [/edit]



 1:06 am on Jul 6, 2012 (gmt 0)

if you check the IP for www.goguides.org it's the same as what hit your site so it's probably them.

I'd say it's legit.


 1:26 am on Jul 6, 2012 (gmt 0)

A decade ago there was a spider that used to crawl sites until a located a 404, then an automated spam email would be sent hawking their website services.

The org had name of something like days and weeks or hours. For some reason 24/7 keeps haunting me. I know I've some reference saved, however was unable to easily locate and was not willing to spend a lot time on subch nonsense.

Eventually the creator found a buyer for his spider and company and the email spam and spidering stopped.

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved