wilderness

msg:4367217 | 2:36 am on Sep 26, 2011 (gmt 0) |
Lucy, Are you allowing activity from Soft Layer? The entire Class B is a standard.
|
lucy24

msg:4367225 | 3:27 am on Sep 26, 2011 (gmt 0) |
Funny you should say that. I don't normally blot out whole ranges on the basis of one visit, but this time after a quick check to verify that I've never seen anyone else from this neighborhood, I proceeded directly to Deny from 67.228.0.0/15 Thankfully my host has now fixed the glitch that made it impossible to add "Deny from..." directives unless you were willing to sacrifice normal-looking logs. Converting everything into RegExes for SetEnvIf was getting old. Where else do softlayer live? I've had a solitary visit from 50.22 (Bender), but they behaved themselves. And a solitary annoyance from next door 50.23. Bad robots always seem to go for my second-fattest file.* What do they expect to find there? Lists of plain-text passwords? How do they even know to look for it? g### used to say how big a file was, but somewhere when I wasn't paying attention they seem to have stopped. * In html, that is. Many of the e-books weigh in at a lot more if you count the images-- but robots seem to be allergic to the "ebooks" directory name. That must be why they avoid the #1 fattest text.
|
Mokita

msg:4367232 | 4:32 am on Sep 26, 2011 (gmt 0) |
| Where else do softlayer live? |
| Lucy, I have these ranges noted as SoftLayer, but there might be more: 50.22.0.0 - 50.23.255.255 64.125.118.64 - 64.125.118.95 67.228.0.0 - 67.228.255.255 174.36.0.0 - 174.37.255.255 184.172.0.0 - 184.173.255.255
|
Pfui

msg:4367235 | 4:59 am on Sep 26, 2011 (gmt 0) |
Some more, from... [webmasterworld.com...] 74.86.0.0/16 173.192.0.0/15 [webmasterworld.com...] 75.126.0.0/16 And last but not least: deny from softlayer
|
lucy24

msg:4367500 | 9:23 pm on Sep 26, 2011 (gmt 0) |
Postscript: I gotta drift OT for a moment to share a couple more "Gee, could this possibly be a robot?" UAs I found while looking for something else.* They're from banned IPs so I never happened to notice the UAs before. #1:
example/1.0 Bad robot! You leave our "example" string alone! And take your highly questionable g7.in/1CCC.html referer with you. #2:
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; snprtz|S04727582701828#1828|isdn; .NET CLR 2.0.50727) Gesundheit. I don't even remember why I originally blocked 208.80. but I'm sure it was a good and valid reason. Cursory searching [webmasterworld.com] tells me they've been around for a while. Maybe they should see a doctor about that persistent phonestheme. * Nagvaalauqtunga, let's say.
|
dstiles

msg:4367503 | 9:30 pm on Sep 26, 2011 (gmt 0) |
My IP ranges for Softlayer are... 50.22.0.0 - 50.23.255.255 50.97.0.0 - 50.97.255.255 66.228.112.0 - 66.228.127.255 67.228.0.0 - 67.228.255.255 74.86.0.0 - 74.86.255.255 75.126.0.0 - 75.126.255.255 173.192.0.0 - 173.193.255.255 174.36.0.0 - 174.37.255.255 208.43.0.0 - 208.43.255.255 208.101.0.0 - 208.101.63.255 Lucy - your line "Deny from 67.228.0.0/15" - I have no record of anything odd coming from 67.229.0.0/16, which does not appear to be softlayer anyway?
|
lucy24

msg:4367506 | 9:42 pm on Sep 26, 2011 (gmt 0) |
| your line "Deny from 67.228.0.0/15" - I have no record of anything odd coming from 67.229.0.0/16, which does not appear to be softlayer anyway? |
| No idea. The 67.229 sequence only appears in my raw logs as the second half of a googlebot IP-- that is, nnn.nnn.67.229. No help there. (If Spotlight does RegEx, they keep it a closely guarded secret.) Maybe just because I found them listed as a block, 67.228.0.0 to 67.229.255.255. If I make up random 67.229 numbers I land on random other hosts.
|
wilderness

msg:4367507 | 9:50 pm on Sep 26, 2011 (gmt 0) |
Lucy, ARIN-WHOIS is not exactly user-friendly these days, however if you go there and past in "SoftLayer Technologies Inc." (minus the quotes.) You'll be provided with a list of results (your required to view each individually) for all the available IP's.
|
aleksl

msg:4393083 | 7:30 pm on Dec 1, 2011 (gmt 0) |
Ok, can I bring old topic from the dead. You guys are blocking entire SoftLayer servers? What about people who host servers there, like us regular webmaster folks?
|
wilderness

msg:4393085 | 7:36 pm on Dec 1, 2011 (gmt 0) |
| What about people who host servers there, like us regular webmaster folks? |
| other websites servers are not generally considered beneficial traffic to most webmasters, at least the ones that are capable of differentiating between visitors and harvesters. Please see the very long Amazon thread as well.
|
Mokita

msg:4393091 | 7:46 pm on Dec 1, 2011 (gmt 0) |
@aleksl Our blocking of Softlayer (or any server farm) would only affect you or other webmasters (regular or not) if you or they are attempting to crawl / scrape our sites. We are blocking traffic coming FROM the servers, not going TO the servers. Most "regular webmaster folks" don't have any need or desire to crawl our sites. [edited by: Mokita at 7:48 pm (utc) on Dec 1, 2011]
|
aleksl

msg:4393092 | 7:46 pm on Dec 1, 2011 (gmt 0) |
Ok. Amazon thread, this one? [webmasterworld.com...]
|
Pfui

msg:4393177 | 9:54 pm on Dec 1, 2011 (gmt 0) |
That was just Part 1 (amazonaws.com plays host to wide variety of bad bots). Here's Part 2: Amazon AWS Hosts Bad Bots [webmasterworld.com...]
|
wilderness

msg:4427231 | 3:32 am on Mar 10, 2012 (gmt 0) |
Had a request for robots.text and two requests for the main page from: 159.253.143.zz - - [10/Mar/2012:02:50:00 +0000] "GET / HTTP/1.0" 301 234 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; SWEBot/1.0; +http://swebot-crawler.net)" The interesting part is that the IP is returned as netname: NETBLK-SOFTLAYER-RIPE-CUST-MB27388-RIPE descr: Hosting Services Inc. (Midphase) country: US Started doing requests to see how far the Class C went and still belonged to Softlayer. After four verifications of small Class D blocks (to different orgs) up to 111, I stopped and just denied that entire Class B, which may not be beneficial to everyone.
|
lucy24

msg:4427248 | 4:41 am on Mar 10, 2012 (gmt 0) |
Oh, gosh, I once met an absolutely horrendous robot from that neighborhood. 159.253.145.nn. It's in my notes as no robots.txt, 400 requests in 50 sec, most links wrong Notes also say (1) 159.253.128-159 softlayer/Netherlands and (2) 253.145.128-191 (159.253.145.128/26) which is the form I've blocked them in, though I could perfectly well have gone to the /19 form. January 1, so it probably rates a mention next door in At Home With the Robots [webmasterworld.com] :: shuffling papers :: Yup. It's the one I flagged as "stupid robot" because of its utter incompetence when it came to parsing <a ...> tags: | With 394 hits in 50 seconds I would put it at the top of the ### list ... if it weren't for its mind-boggling, over-the-top, jaw-dropping, have-to-see-it-to-believe-it stupidity. |
|
|
wilderness

msg:4427257 | 4:58 am on Mar 10, 2012 (gmt 0) |
lucy, It's likely you could block the entire Class C. I opted for the B because it fits my needs.
|
keyplyr

msg:4427288 | 7:52 am on Mar 10, 2012 (gmt 0) |
Thanks dstiles, I didn't have one of those Softlayer ranges.
|
|