Pfui

msg:4346483 | 3:17 am on Aug 2, 2011 (gmt 0) |
(WWW = here?) I watched Bergdorf Group machines/IPs ramp-up even after 403s, ditto 200s to bot-bait. After multiple blocked URI=REF hits from five of their IPs, I finally killfiled 91.224.160.0/24 on July 3. JULY 3 91.224.160.132 Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; KKman2.0) 91.224.160.129 Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.0.3705) 91.224.160.90 Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0b; Windows NT 6.0) JUNE 13 91.224.160.91 Opera/8.00 (Windows NT 5.1; U; en) JUNE 11 91.224.160.90 Mozilla/1.22 (compatible; MSIE 2.0; Windows 95) So many faked UAs, so little time... [projecthoneypot.org...]
|
keyplyr

msg:4346511 | 4:44 am on Aug 2, 2011 (gmt 0) |
No, here would be WW. By WWW I'm referring to World Wide Web :) In other words searching for that IP range returns many account of SPAM bot activity, with various UAs (as you've attested.)
|
caribguy

msg:4346738 | 4:37 pm on Aug 2, 2011 (gmt 0) |
Indeed... Checked my logs, has the signature of a blog / forum spammer. Thanks for the heads-up.
|
dstiles

msg:4346856 | 9:42 pm on Aug 2, 2011 (gmt 0) |
Blocked the /23 back on April Fools day. Seems appropriate. :)
|
caribguy

msg:4348386 | 8:11 pm on Aug 5, 2011 (gmt 0) |
And this is pretty timely, via the Sans Incident Handlers: a new Mac OSX Lion trojan is being distributed through the Bergdorf network. [isc.sans.edu...] This is a DNS changer type malware that modifies the hosts file to redirect google sites to 91.224.160.26. Which appears to be in the British Virgin Islands. |
|
|
Pfui

msg:4348408 | 8:47 pm on Aug 5, 2011 (gmt 0) |
Wow. And talk about small world. Also interesting is F-Secure's article detailing the degrees to which the Bad Guys go to fake people out. [f-secure.com...] NOTE: The trojan is a fake FlashPlayer.pkg installer for Mac; it has zero connection to Lion per se, or Apple, etc. Lion doesn't include a Flash package.
|
|