wilderness

msg:4248322 | 5:22 pm on Jan 2, 2011 (gmt 0) |
It might be more advantegous to your inquiry, if you provided the User Agent as well? 69.31.103.0 - 69.31.103.255 nLayer Customer Here's some more nLayer ranges you may wish to add (there may even be more in 2010; these numbers from 2007): RewriteCond %{REMOTE_ADDR} ^69\.22\.(12[8-9]|1[3-8][0-9]|19[01])\. [OR] RewriteCond %{REMOTE_ADDR} ^69\.31\. [OR] RewriteCond %{REMOTE_ADDR} ^69\.50\.(1[6-8][0-9]|19[01])\. [OR]
|
tabish

msg:4248455 | 5:38 am on Jan 3, 2011 (gmt 0) |
Thankx wilderness I wanted to know if that IP belongs to any search engine bot? I do not have user agent with me. I will provide when i get that from my hosting company. Can you please tell me if this ip is of any search engine bot? like google or yahoo? I blocked it but I am worried that if i blocked any search bot accidentally?
|
Pfui

msg:4248468 | 7:38 am on Jan 3, 2011 (gmt 0) |
1.) I'm unfamiliar with that IP belonging to any known bot, and definitely not one of the majors. Regardless, if any 'visitor' -- bot or body -- is hitting hard enough to slow down a site, it's blockworthy. That said, if you don't have access to your logs, the IP may not have caused the slow-down... 2.) How did you confirm that IP was the culprit? 3.) You can do your own WHOIS lookups through major registrars and countless sites like dnsstuff.com, domaintools.com, etc.
|
tangor

msg:4248470 | 7:45 am on Jan 3, 2011 (gmt 0) |
I look at fast rips through site as blockworthy... at the same time I look at the IP for more info to determine if it is a bot or a HUMAN with a site ripper... which means I also look at the UA to see if that has a bearing on the problem. Not all rapid requests are bots. Some are a$$holes copying local your content without reading it, though they think they might at some future time. Meanwhile, your bandwidth has been hit. Can't kill all those lookie loos...
|
wilderness

msg:4248529 | 12:03 pm on Jan 3, 2011 (gmt 0) |
| I wanted to know if that IP belongs to any search engine bot? |
| None that I'm aware of. nLayer is backbone service provider.
|
zerillos

msg:4249187 | 12:17 am on Jan 5, 2011 (gmt 0) |
I can't be 100% sure, but in my opinion it's not google. my 30 second research led me to a rather scrapy looking "business"
|
|