xcomm

msg:3812793 | 3:44 pm on Dec 22, 2008 (gmt 0) |
just seen the first tiem too: 202.96.51.149 - - [22/Dec/2008:16:25:33 +0100] "GET /robots.txt HTTP/1.0" 200 34 "-" "librabot/1.0 (+http://search.msn.com/msnbot.htm)" 202.96.51.150 - - [22/Dec/2008:16:25:34 +0100] "GET /some-content-site.html HTTP/1.0" 200 29712 "-" "librabot/1.0 (+http://search.msn.com/msnbot.htm)"
|
incrediBILL

msg:3817620 | 3:22 am on Jan 2, 2009 (gmt 0) |
Here's some startling MSNBOT news: [webmasterworld.com...]
|
Lain_se

msg:3835318 | 3:30 am on Jan 27, 2009 (gmt 0) |
I have also seen this bot. 202.96.51.149 Resolves to China....MSN bot from China? Traces to: CNCGROUP Beijing Province Network / Microsft (China) Co.Ltd The one that hit my website, also from China and did not even ask for a robots.txt file....how rude! 219.142.53.17 librabot/1.0 (+http://search.msn.com/msnbot.htm) traces to: Data Communication Division / Beijing Telecom Now I dont know about all you guys, but I have a long history of...shall we say "undesirable traffic" that emanates from China. Until I see a consistant "user agent" and traceable IP range for this bot, its getting blocked! [edited by: Lain_se at 3:33 am (utc) on Jan. 27, 2009]
|
miqrogroove

msg:3836914 | 11:16 pm on Jan 28, 2009 (gmt 0) |
Microsoft says to block librabot [forums.microsoft.com...]
|
GaryK

msg:3836937 | 12:09 am on Jan 29, 2009 (gmt 0) |
Welcome to WebmasterWorld. What I'm seeing is Brett Yount, Moderator and Program Manager, Live Search Webmaster Tools, recommends blocking an IP Address in China. Depending on your traffic that may or may not be a good idea. All he's really saying about it is blocking that IP Address will not block msnbot. :)
|
miqrogroove

msg:3836951 | 12:26 am on Jan 29, 2009 (gmt 0) |
"My traffic" is 65% botnet spam agents and malicious content scrapers. If Microsoft can't identify some of this new traffic then I block it and get on with my day.
|
|