not2easy - 3:53 pm on Jan 13, 2013 (gmt 0)
If you have a complete backup on your computer, it is possible that you do have a copy of the original .htaccess file and you just can't see it. The file is hidden by default and you will need to change your folders settings to be able to see it. If you right click on a folder you should see a way to change the settings so that it will "Show Hidden Files".
If you can see it that way, you should be able to delete the site on your server and upload the backup versions of your files/folders.