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keyon - 5:46 pm on Feb 3, 2005 (gmt 0)
The average conversion rates I'm familiar with (in just about any given industry) seem to hover between 1-2 percent. When I look at an Adwords equation where I pay $0.25 per click, my numbers (see below) say that I'd need to bring in no less than $25 compensation on every conversion. Sure, the $45 Ebay registration looks good. But what about all the other affiliate programs that pay 5-10 percent? If my $0.25 link to Amazon pays me only 5 percent commissions, a customer would have to Am I missing something here? Assume 1,000 clicks/day with average CPC of $0.25
Sorry if I'm being naive, but after browsing this forum (and reading the suggested newbie threads), I'm still puzzled how AdWords advertisers are making reasonable ROI from affiliate commissions.
spend $500 to make it worth my while to run the ad. That doesn't seem likely at Amazon.
1000 x $0.25 = $250 net cost Google AdWords
Apply conversion rate of 2% to this traffic:
1000 x .02 = 20 buyers
Average commission needed to break even:
$250(net cost) / 20 = $12.50
Average commission needed to make a reasonable profit (100% markup)
$12.50 x 2 = $25