Sgt_Kickaxe - 12:41 pm on Nov 28, 2012 (gmt 0)
I have a theory that not only has google moved away from doing things on a page level, up to the domain level, but that it also looks at the entire portfolio associated with a webmaster, so I've decided to kill off the site.
I had an interesting experience that supports that theory. I attempted to add adsense data to my analytics account but couldn't because the adsense data of an old site I no longer own was still assigned to that analytics account. Since I deleted that site from analytics a long time ago I had no way of unlinking the two and asked support for help.
Adsense unlinked the two and I thought that was that until I noticed another site I no longer own suddenly appeared in my GWT as a result of google interaction, it appeared as unverified. The new owner didn't verify it in Google and so GWT gave it back to my account, albeit in unverified mode which means I can't do anything with the data.
So, despite my deleting these sites from my accounts myself, Google still assigns them to me in both analytics and GWT. I'm not sure how you tell Google a site is no longer yours, they seem to hold onto that information in the background.