DeeCee - 12:13 am on Mar 23, 2012 (gmt 0)
I assume that by "linking" to another blue widget, you mean through a 301. Not really "link"?
If you use 301's, Google will eventually forget about the old URIs.
If you replace the old content
Leaving the content in place and having a user friendly message, informing them that the content has been removed and instead offer highly relevant alternatives
You would keep the URIs, but Google would see a lot of duplicate content.
Personally, I would do the 301s to better alternatives, and on the side do what I could to find out if there are links out there in the world referring to the old content. If there is, GoogleBot could keep coming back. So, check those referrers.