CMidd - 4:46 am on May 16, 2011 (gmt 0)
This is off Topic it deal with Facebook, but I wanted to warn anyone with a Facebook Fanpage or Group. Please Share This!
Some people may know this, some may not.
Originally when YOU creates a Page or Group you were the creator and you could ad Admins, but they couldn't delete YOU.
Over the last few months Facebook has rolled out a change "with out warning" that now Allows Any Admin to Delete Any Admin "including the initial creator of the page/group"
I stopped posting on this site, but I felt it my duty to warn everyone.
I have a page and group and both are large. I use to account "one named after the group/page and my personal accounts". I created the page/group with my personal page.
In January "the last time i checked" when using my page named after the group I could see my personal account as an admin, but I Couldn't Delete Myself, while logged in as myself I could delete the page I create named after the group/page.
To help admin my group i made active members admins.
Today I logged into my account i named after the page/group and I could see the option to remove my personal account. I was like WTF.
So I researched and found out that over the past months Facebook has rolled out changes to page and group which basically give All Admins the same privileges, including the ability to delete the admin that made the group or made them an Admin.
You really need to look into this if you run a large group and made members admins, or you you give company, freelancers etc admin access to your page.
Also if you work with companies to edit/update you fan page "ie creating iframe app, widgets, etc".
You could give a company Admin access to your page to create a iframe tab, and they could delete you as an admin, and take your page completely.
Also if you have a page or group and gave member admin access to help monitor and clean it up, you might want to think about removing them "give them an excuse and claim Facebook now requires it".
Me personally i'am scared and don't know what option to take.
I spent thousand building the page and group "advertising".
I made active members of the community admins "11 people", and knowing that any one of them can delete all admin and control the group has me concerned.
And worst if they allow their account to get hacked the hacker with access to their account could literally take my group.
It's going to be a ticky slope for me because i personally know the admins i gave access, but i personally need protection seeing as I'm the one who create the page and paid to advertise it. Some of them might be mad and shocked after realizing they are no longer admins.
If you own a page or group you def need to look into this ASAP!